Extended Audio Sample

Download Murder at the Savoy Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Murder at the Savoy Audiobook, by Maj Sjöwall Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (784 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Maj Sjöwall, Per Wahlöö Narrator: Tom Weiner Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Martin Beck Police Mysteries Release Date: October 2009 ISBN: 9781455192458
Regular Price: $13.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

When Viktor Palmgren, a powerful industrialist, is shot during an after-dinner speech, the repercussions—both on the international money markets and on the residents of the small coastal town of Malmö—are widespread. Chief Inspector Martin Beck is called in to help catch a killer nobody, not even the victim, was able to identify. He begins a systemic search for the friends, enemies, business associates and call girls who may have wanted Palmgren dead. But in the process, he finds to his dismay that he has nothing but contempt for the victim and sympathy for the murderer.

This is the sixth thrilling installment in the Martin Beck detective series from the 1960s, the novels that have inspired all crime fiction written ever since.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_003262

Quotes & Awards

  • “The large and varied cast is nicely captured by Tom Weiner’s able and often wonderfully witty performance. Especially when he creates dialogue between two characters with utterly different pitches and timbres, you’ll be tempted to laugh with pleasure. One cares less about who actually ‘dunit’ than about the characters, which makes audio the perfect way to enjoy this book.”

    AudioFile

  • “Lean, sardonic, and insightful…Murder at the Savoy is well up to the standards of this excellent series, and praise does not come much higher than that.”

    Eurocrime.co.uk

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Maria | 2/10/2014

    " Martin goes to Malmo to investigate a "political" killing. Classic. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Lavina | 1/30/2014

    " This installment in the Martin Beck series was slow going. All the action bookends a social commentary on Sweden in the 1960s, and I had a hard time investing in any of it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Roxane | 1/8/2014

    " A bit of a political statement in this one - but the police procedural portion is outstanding. (Though I really did struggle with some of the ideology portrayed - or maybe I just did not understand what they were trying to express.) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kenneth Fredette | 12/30/2013

    " It was good to see that nothing changed in the workings of Stockholm. For once the obscene took place without much in the telling. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tuck | 11/28/2013

    " a classic police procedural/noir/social commentary of crime and capitalism. i guess this series by maj sjowall and per wahloo started and lot of things, most notably arne dahl, stieg larsson, jo nesbo etc etc . this is pretty dry though and slow. a typical great white north cop/crime novel. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Amy | 6/28/2013

    " I believe this is the 6th in the series and not my favorite. It was still a very good read but since I ate up the first 5, I had to give this one a "3" because it didn't grab me like the others. Looking forward to the next in the series and strongly recommend them. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mara | 11/3/2011

    " Un giallo classico, ben scritto . Interessante la descrizione della societa' svedese della fine anni 60 "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sharon | 6/10/2011

    " Once again, a time in the life of Martin Beck. A very good example of cooperation, or not, between police forces. A very interesting story. There was a little happiness in Martin's life this time, nice to see. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lee Thielen | 5/23/2011

    " We have watched numerous Detective Beck mysteries on International Mysteries so I was curious about the books. Well written, read it quickly, liked the noir aspects to crime in Sweden. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Jen | 1/1/2011

    " i think the fault lies mostly in the less than charming translation. it seems like these characters are loved in Sweden. the best that can be said is that it's a quick read and i didn't see the motive. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cam | 9/11/2010

    " In the tradition of Sjowall and Wahloo - enjoyable quick read. Great for airplanes and vacations. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jenn Estepp | 7/19/2010

    " solid mystery in the martin beck series. not my favorite and in a way there's a lot of plodding, then something random and key happens and everything falls together. which is maybe an accurate look at how real life cases get solved, but doesn't necessarily make for the most compelling reading. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Liz Gallagher | 6/9/2010

    " Another great Martin Beck novel...great insights into Swedish life in the 60's and 70's. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Martin | 9/13/2009

    " Love these books. Have read 4 at this stage and am going to buy the other 6 over time and read them. M "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Maj Sjöwall and Per Wahlöö, wife and husband team, wrote ten Martin Beck mysteries, virtually creating the modern police procedural. In addition to the many short stories and novels he wrote, Mr. Wahlöö, who died in 1975, wrote numerous radio and television plays and was a reporter for several Swedish newspapers and magazines. Maj Sjöwall is also a journalist and poet. She lives in Sweden.

About the Narrator

Tom Weiner, a dialogue director and voice artist best known for his roles in video games and television shows such as Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Transformers, is an Earphones Award winner and Audie Award finalist. He is a former member of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival.