Extended Audio Sample

Download Mule: A Novel of Moving Weight Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Mule: A Novel of Moving Weight, by Tony D'Souza Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (211 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Tony D'Souza Narrator: Charlie Thursto Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $25.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

James and Kate are golden children of the late twentieth century, flush with opportunity. But an economic downturn and an unexpected pregnancy send them searching for a way to survive. A friend in California’s Siskiyou County grows prime-grade marijuana; if James transports just one load from Cali to Florida, he’ll pull down enough cash to survive for months. And so begins the life of a mule. A zeitgeist-capturing novel that plunges you into the criminal underworld with little chance to take a breath, Mule is about young people trying to make do in a moment when the American Dream they never had to believe in—because it was handed to them, fully wrapped and ready to go at the takeout window—suddenly vanishes from the menu. Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • Mule is the sort of novel I love: it solves nothing but explains everything. It also, thanks to its wicked style and pacing, lets me forget I’m reading serious literature while I follow its terrifying story into the land of the all-American damned.” 

    Walter Kirn, author of Up in the Air

  • Mule is swift, taut, and relentless, both a rip-roaring drug tale and a fascinating portrait of a decent human being whose morals slowly disintegrate under unbearable financial strain. Tony D’Souza proves, yet again, that he is an immensely clever storyteller with plenty of talent to spare.” 

    Lauren Groff, author of The Monsters of Templeton 

  • “With adrenaline-infused sentences and a seat-gripping storyline, Tony D’Souza has written one of the first great novels to emerge from our perplexing, endless recession. A heartfelt tale of one family’s freefall, Mule is a novel that illuminates contemporary American desperation, both its dangerous precipices and its thrilling, overwhelming freedom.” 

    Dean Bakopoulos, author of My American Unhappiness

  • “An acutely detailed page-turner.”

    Entertainment Weekly

  • “[D’Souza’s] authorial voice is sharp and crisp, eschewing flowery prose for a hard-hitting narrative style that perfectly suits the page-turning, drug fueled tale. Fans of Toby Young and Max Barry and those who follow D’Souza’s magazine work will greatly enjoy the timely, witty, fast-paced Mule.” 


  • “A smart and bracing ground-level exploration of the drug trade.”

    Kirkus Reviews 

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Angela Juline | 2/15/2014

    " very interesting...i can totally picture this as a movie. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Brian | 2/13/2014

    " What a wild ride! This story of trafficking marijuana was so tense that it became increasingly more difficult to read. It was one of those books where I had no idea how it would end until the last page. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Liz | 2/4/2014

    " This book kept my attention and had an engaging story. The ending left me wanting more. I learned a bunch about drug trafficking. I enjoyed the book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Kate | 1/31/2014

    " The prose was fantastic. The characters felt believable, and where things felt sparse they felt necessarily so. I loved the pace- I read it rather quickly. A well composed book with an excellent plot. A great read that feels genuine. I love the redefinition of the American Dream in this brilliant work. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations