Extended Audio Sample

Download Mule: A Novel of Moving Weight Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Mule: A Novel of Moving Weight Audiobook, by Tony D'Souza Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (211 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Tony D'Souza Narrator: Charlie Thurston Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: September 2011 ISBN: 9781482974607
Regular Price: $25.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

James and Kate are golden children of the late twentieth century, flush with opportunity. But an economic downturn and an unexpected pregnancy send them searching for a way to survive. A friend in California’s Siskiyou County grows prime-grade marijuana; if James transports just one load from Cali to Florida, he’ll pull down enough cash to survive for months. And so begins the life of a mule. A zeitgeist-capturing novel that plunges you into the criminal underworld with little chance to take a breath, Mule is about young people trying to make do in a moment when the American Dream they never had to believe in—because it was handed to them, fully wrapped and ready to go at the takeout window—suddenly vanishes from the menu. Download and start listening now!

BK_BBCA_001073

Quotes & Awards

  • Mule is the sort of novel I love: it solves nothing but explains everything. It also, thanks to its wicked style and pacing, lets me forget I’m reading serious literature while I follow its terrifying story into the land of the all-American damned.” 

    Walter Kirn, author of Up in the Air

  • Mule is swift, taut, and relentless, both a rip-roaring drug tale and a fascinating portrait of a decent human being whose morals slowly disintegrate under unbearable financial strain. Tony D’Souza proves, yet again, that he is an immensely clever storyteller with plenty of talent to spare.” 

    Lauren Groff, author of The Monsters of Templeton 

  • “With adrenaline-infused sentences and a seat-gripping storyline, Tony D’Souza has written one of the first great novels to emerge from our perplexing, endless recession. A heartfelt tale of one family’s freefall, Mule is a novel that illuminates contemporary American desperation, both its dangerous precipices and its thrilling, overwhelming freedom.” 

    Dean Bakopoulos, author of My American Unhappiness

  • “An acutely detailed page-turner.”

    Entertainment Weekly

  • “[D’Souza’s] authorial voice is sharp and crisp, eschewing flowery prose for a hard-hitting narrative style that perfectly suits the page-turning, drug fueled tale. Fans of Toby Young and Max Barry and those who follow D’Souza’s magazine work will greatly enjoy the timely, witty, fast-paced Mule.” 

    Booklist

  • “A smart and bracing ground-level exploration of the drug trade.”

    Kirkus Reviews 

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Angela Juline | 2/15/2014

    " very interesting...i can totally picture this as a movie. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brian | 2/13/2014

    " What a wild ride! This story of trafficking marijuana was so tense that it became increasingly more difficult to read. It was one of those books where I had no idea how it would end until the last page. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Liz | 2/4/2014

    " This book kept my attention and had an engaging story. The ending left me wanting more. I learned a bunch about drug trafficking. I enjoyed the book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kate | 1/31/2014

    " The prose was fantastic. The characters felt believable, and where things felt sparse they felt necessarily so. I loved the pace- I read it rather quickly. A well composed book with an excellent plot. A great read that feels genuine. I love the redefinition of the American Dream in this brilliant work. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kim Reed | 1/20/2014

    " Couldn't put it down. Really engaging but an unsatisfying ending. There are ambiguous endings that allow you to draw your own conclusions and ambiguous endings where you feel like the author just didn't know how to end the book. This was the latter. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Christian | 1/3/2014

    " Taut, compelling. It will make you as anxious as the driver. I would have given it four-stars but for the open-ended conclusion "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Keri | 1/1/2014

    " Meh. A book that really wanted to be Breaking Bad but was not even close. Having likable characters probably would've hellped. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Leandro | 12/8/2013

    " Great book overall. At some points you have to stick with it but other than that it was great. This novel is just riveting and in the words of James "drive fast and swerve alot". "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Monica | 12/5/2013

    " A good, engaging read. Hated the ending, though. Pretty weak, imho. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Alex Gleason | 11/13/2013

    " Although this hit a vast number of wonky notes, it was a real page-turner. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Naomi McCormick | 8/23/2013

    " i kept waiting for this book to get off the ground, but i could never really connect with the story the way the author intended. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rebecca Avery | 5/24/2013

    " This is a great biik. very fast read and a page tuner. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Michelle | 5/6/2013

    " Great surprise to find out the author went to Carthage College in my hometown. I immediately loved the book that much more! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Antonluca Roccabianca | 4/3/2013

    " Great: I red it in 3 nights. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Linda | 3/30/2013

    " I kept forgetting this was a novel. It reads like a memoir. It certainly had me wondering if the author was a drug mule at any point in his history. I like my novels to read like novels, not non-fiction so I didn't love it. Also, I found the ending unsatisfying. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Brandon Nagel | 1/23/2013

    " Fantastic. One of my favorite of the 50 plus books I have read this year. Anyone interested in the muling of drugs around the country should pick it up. Reads like a memoir. Impossible to put down. Highly recommended. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Julia | 11/16/2012

    " With TV shows like Weeds or Breaking Bad we learn that you can only be in the illegal drug trade for 1-2 seasons before the plot just gets out of control. The nice thing about novels is that they can have satisfying conclusions and this one does. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sarah | 10/27/2012

    " Intense! Definitely gave me anxiety... A good read for sure. Full review will post on my blog closer to pub date "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Megan | 10/25/2012

    " It could have been so much better if the timing wasn't so strange. The end becomes convoluted but I really loved it. Reminded me of some friends I know.... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Vianna Tedder | 10/22/2012

    " A work of fiction about the effects of the current recession, interesting. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Narrator

Charlie Thurston is an actor and Earphones Award–winning narrator. He has appeared on stages across the country with Trinity Repertory Company, Chautauqua Theater Company, Creede Rep, and at Riverside Theatre and Redmoon Theater, among others. His favorite roles include Edgar in The Completely Fictional—Utterly True—Final Strange Tale of Edgar Allan Poe, Stephen in The Long Christmas Ride Home, Tuzenbach in The Three Sisters, and Tony in You Can’t Take It with You. He holds an MFA in acting from Brown University / Trinity Rep.