Extended Audio Sample

Download Mistress of My Fate Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Mistress of My Fate, by Hallie Rubenhold Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Hallie Rubenhold Narrator: Moira Quirk Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Confessions of Henrietta Lightfoot Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.98 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Set during a period of revolution and turmoil, Mistress of My Fate is the first in a trilogy about Henrietta Lightfoot, a young woman who was abandoned as a baby and raised alongside her cousins, noble children of a lord and lady. At just sixteen years old, circumstance and a passionate love affair tear Henrietta away from everything she knows, leading to a new life where she fends for herself on the streets of eighteenth century London as a courtesan, gambler, and spirited intellect of the city.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A full-blooded historical romp.”

    Independent (London)

  • “A rollicking good read...A remarkable picture of a fascinating age.”

    Daily Express (London)

  • “A vibrant coming of age story...ricochets with bawdy energy, witty observation, and rollicking pace between brothels, theaters, and the corridors of political power. Lots of fun.”

    Easy Living

  • “Deviltry, debauchery, and desire reign supreme in volume one of this colorful Regency romp.”


  • “Historian Rubenhold captures the end of the colorful, hard-living, hard-drinking Georgian age as it fades into the tender, sublime sensitivity of the Romantic era. The wonderfully authentic tone will captivate devotees of Walpole, Richardson, and Defoe.”

    Library Journal

  • “Tantalizing.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Hallie Rubenhold is a historian and broadcaster and an authority on British eighteenth-century social history. She has written two works of nonfiction to critical acclaim: The Convent Garden Ladies and Lady Worsley’s Whim.In addition to writing books, articles, and reviews, Hallie regularly appears on television in the United Kingdom as an expert contributor to documentaries. She lives in London with her husband.