Extended Audio Sample

Download Mistress of Magic Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Mistress of Magic, by Marion Zimmer Bradley Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.79 out of 53.79 out of 53.79 out of 53.79 out of 53.79 out of 5 3.79 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley Narrator: Davina Porte Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Mists of Avalon Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $29.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

In the tradition of T. H. White’s The Once and Future King, the author makes use of the prerequisites of the Arthurian legend: Excalibur, the Holy Grail, Lancelet’s illicit love for Gwenhwyfar, the destruction of Camelot, but with a twist—she presents the entire panoramic story from the female point of view. No passive bystanders, these earthy priestesses from Avalon literally breathe life into a musty, oft-told tale. In book one: Mistress of Magic, the Lady of the Lake—Viviane—brings about the marriage of her younger sister Igraine to Uther Pendragon. Their only child, Arthur, is believed to be the last hope in the long-standing war between Saxons and Romans.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • An epic novel of violence … and haunting enchantments. --Publishers Weekly

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Michelle | 12/9/2010

    " I thought it was just okay. It didn't get deep enough into the story and characters. I felt like it just skimmed over the top. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Barry | 11/26/2010

    " i am conflicted about the book. the arthur tale was done quite well and it was a pretty good read. i found the prose quite overblown and flowery, however. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Isis | 8/17/2010

    " Yet another Arthurian legend retelling, this one from the woman's perspective (yay) but bloated and repetitive (boo). If I hadn't been listening to it as an audiobook I probably would have ditched in the middle. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Wafa | 8/14/2010

    " La légende du roi Arthur et des chevaliers de la table ronde n'avait inspiré un roman d'une telle envergure. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations