Extended Audio Sample

Download Mistik Lake Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Mistik Lake, by Martha Brooks Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (338 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Martha Brooks Narrator: Katie MacNichol Publisher: Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2008 ISBN: 9780739364710
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

Seventeen-year-old Odella is haunted by family secrets. Why doesn't her great-aunt Gloria come to visit anymore? Why does her mother, Sally, drink so much? Sally's tragic car accident on a frozen lake in the winter of her own sixteenth year seems to have cast a spell over her life that no one can break.

Odella tries to hold her family together, but when her mother runs off, she's overwhelmed and confused. How can you claim to love your family, only to walk out the door and never come back?

Then Odella meets Jimmy Tomasson, whose dreams of prophetic flying fish seem to have led him to her. In the heat and tenderness of their deepening feelings, and in his belief in her, Odella begins to find the courage to love...and the strength to unravel the web of secrets that has ensnared them all.

This spare, lyrical novel, brilliantly narrated from multiple points of view, explores the lives of three generations of women within a family--revealing what happens when you don't have the courage to follow your own heart, and what can happen when you do.

Download and start listening now!

BK_LILI_000812

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Faith | 2/1/2014

    " Small town life will never be the same for Odella and her family. While not exceptionally literary, Brooks offers a stark portrayal of one small town and how the residents affect each other. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Evelyn | 1/25/2014

    " A stunning novel about trusting your heart, and about the lies, bad choices and secret suffering that haunts those who don't. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Marilyn | 1/23/2014

    " Brooks' writing style is reminiscent of another Canadian writer, Alice Munro. Quiet, sad, dark at times, very atmospheric and a strong sense of place. I don't know how I'll get teens to read this beautifully written book; the cover is off-putting and the inside cover description isn't catchy. It's very good, though, so if you know any serious, mature teens, particularly girls, I'd recommend it to them. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kari | 1/20/2014

    " Alternating POV from different characters. The writing had forward momentum, especially at the beginning. Teen coming-of-age novel, with lots of complicated family and small town secrets. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mokamonkey | 1/19/2014

    " A beautiful book about Odella, an older teen girl who is dealing with issues surrounding her alcoholic mother who left them a couple of years ago. It's also about family and how all of the people who were a part of her mother's past come together in Odella's present to give her a better picture of what her mother's life and pain was like, while also forming a support system for Odella. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Louise | 1/15/2014

    " a compelling little read that i finished in a day. and it was set in an icelandic community in manitoba so it had a lot of cultural relevance for me. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lane Passon | 1/9/2014

    " I quite enjoyed this book. It was a quick read also. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Pammie | 12/30/2013

    " I liked this one! Intended for YA audience but readable for adults. The ending wasn't a surprise but it was a good read along the way. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sallie | 12/26/2013

    " Once I started this book I could not put it down. I had to know all the family secrets that had been hidden for so many years. It was terrific. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Julie | 12/23/2013

    " I listened to this on audio. It was a an interesting story about Odella and the secrets that her mother and great-aunt kept from her. It is told through each of their perspectives, at times. Interesting, but I was never very engaged in it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Judi | 11/22/2013

    " Coming of age story - nicely done "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Susie Serrano | 5/18/2013

    " If I sit down to start a book and almost finish it in an afternoon then you know it's good. This was on a Ya booklist from a recent article I read in SLJ I think. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Carol | 1/6/2013

    " Martha Brooks is a wonderful Canadian author, very good at character-driven novels. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Samantha | 12/16/2012

    " More like a 3.5 because it took me awhile to get into it but I really liked the way this ended. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Claire | 9/18/2012

    " This was a fairly quick story that captured my attention. I could mostly relate to the characters and enjoyed it. I didn't ever come around to understanding the mom who abandoned her kids, but I could follow how she came to be so miserable. Generally well-done. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mary | 9/1/2012

    " Good characters and use of multiple points of view. Shows how relationships suffer under the pressure of secrets and guilt. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Monica Edinger | 4/25/2012

    " I liked this very much and was not expecting to at all. I'm not generally a fan of multi-generational book focusing mostly on women this way. But this one really grabbed me and kept me engaged throughout. Lovely sense of place, character development, and plot. All three handled beautifully. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Hayley | 10/12/2011

    " Readalike: The Uninvited by Tim Wynne-Jones "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Christina | 10/10/2011

    " Interesting story of three generations of women and girls. Odessa's mother was in a car accident as a teen that took the lives of 3 other teens, and it has shaped "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Joant | 10/7/2011

    " 3 generations of secrets and stories. I liked it. This setting of the book , Manitoba, Canada, is vital to the story, and seems like another character. I felt this way about Snow Falling on the Cedars, too. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Karin | 6/23/2011

    " beautifully written story set in canada. girl and two sisters cope after mom leaves them, gradually uncovering family secrets from long ago. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kate | 6/10/2011

    " An okay book. A compelling story, but I disliked the narrative. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jennifer | 5/3/2011

    " I enjoyed a lot of this book, but it just seemed a bit blah. The storylines didn't really come together for me - felt like a lot of things were just dropped when they could have added to the conflicts and made more drama. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sean Strommer | 2/1/2011

    " read this book its hella good "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 ReynaMariee:) | 1/16/2011

    " i think this is an amaazing book i couldnt put it down ! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sean | 2/22/2010

    " read this book its hella good "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Hayley | 9/30/2009

    " Readalike: The Uninvited by Tim Wynne-Jones "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Crystal | 9/8/2009

    " overall i loved this book i thought it was amazing and i though the story line was great. as well as very clear and its a real page turner i recommend that everyone read this book if your looking for something interesting. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sallie | 9/3/2009

    " Once I started this book I could not put it down. I had to know all the family secrets that had been hidden for so many years. It was terrific. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Julie | 8/27/2009

    " I listened to this on audio. It was a an interesting story about Odella and the secrets that her mother and great-aunt kept from her. It is told through each of their perspectives, at times. Interesting, but I was never very engaged in it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Angie | 7/22/2009

    " Good, quick read. Summer love. Will recommend to young girls looking for a quick read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mary | 1/18/2009

    " Good characters and use of multiple points of view. Shows how relationships suffer under the pressure of secrets and guilt. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations