Extended Audio Sample

Download Midwinterblood Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Midwinterblood, by Marcus Sedgwick Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Marcus Sedgwick Narrator: Julian Rhind-Tutt Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $22.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

What would you sacrifice for someone you have loved forever?

Have you ever had the feeling that you’ve lived another life? Have you been somewhere that has felt totally familiar even when you have never been there before or felt that you have known someone even though you are meeting them for the first time?

In a novel comprising seven parts each influenced by a moon—lower moon, harvest moon, hunter’s moon, blood moon—and travelling from the year 2073 back in time to the dark of the moon and the days of Vikings, this is the story of Eric and Merle who have loved, lost, and been searching for each other ever since. Throughout the stories, doomed love circles back through the centuries. The two appear as lovers, mother and son, brother and sister, artist and child as they come close to finding one another before facing the ultimate sacrifice.

Beautifully imagined, intricately and cleverly structured this is a heart-wrenching and breathtaking love story.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A tale for the ages, expertly spun and completely satisfying.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “A story that’s simultaneously romantic, tragic, horrifying, and transcendental is more than enough to hold readers’ attention, no matter their age.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Part love story, part mystery, part horror—this is as much about the twisting hand of fate as it is about the mutability of folk tales. Its strange spell will capture you.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Sedgwick’s prose is unadorned yet melancholic.”

    Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

  • “Sedgwick’s prose is taut, careful, and chilling.”

    Horn Book (starred review)

  • The Time Traveler’s Wife meets Lost in this chilling exploration of love and memory…Haunting, sophisticated, and ultimately exquisite.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “Reminiscent of David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas…stark, suspenseful writing.”

    School Library Journal

  • “In this audio collection of seven stories, two characters act as the connecting fibers. Julian Rhind-Tutt strengthens those fibers with a stellar narration that exudes mystery and intrigue through meticulous pacing and selective emphasis. As each story takes the audience back further in time, Rhind-Tutt adjusts his dialect and tone to match the period, characters, and events. He simultaneously maintains consistency in the connecting narrative, which focuses on the return of the two souls, Merle and Eric, as well as recurring symbols like the hares, apples, and dragon flowers. The atmospheric music that signals each story shift adds suspense, but it’s the passion of Rhind-Tutt’s reading that makes this audiobook extraordinary—and one not to be missed by listeners of any age. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”


  • Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award
  • A 2013 New York Times Editor’s Choice
  • Winner of the 2014 Michael L. Printz Award
  • A 2013 Booklist Editors’ Choice for Youth
  • A 2014 Booklist Best Book in Fiction for Young Adult
  • Nominee for the 2013 Carnegie Medal for Literature
  • Winner of the YALSA Alex Award for Young Adults
  • A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2013 for Children
  • One of Kirkus Reviews’ Best Books of 2013 for Teens
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations