Extended Audio Sample

Download Maybe I’ll Pitch Forever: A Great Baseball Player Tells the Hilarious Story behind the Legend Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Maybe I’ll Pitch Forever: A Great Baseball Player Tells the Hilarious Story behind the Legend, by Leroy “Satchel” Paige Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (60 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Leroy “Satchel” Paige Narrator: Edward Lewis Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $16.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Leroy “Satchel” Paige was forty-two years old when he became the first African American pitcher in the American League in 1948. Although he was the oldest rookie around, he had already become a legend. For twenty-two years, beginning in 1926, Paige dazzled fans with his performance in the Negro Major Leagues. He outlasted everyone by playing professional baseball, both in and out of the majors, until 1965. Struggle—against early poverty and racial discrimination—is an integral part of Paige’s story, as are his fast living and humorous point of view. His immortal advice—one of the most famous quotes in baseball—was, “Don’t look back. Something might be gaining on you.”

Maybe I’ll Pitch Forever is Paige’s autobiography, as told to David Lipman.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_003300

Quotes & Awards

  • “Not only was Satchel Paige an amazing athlete, he was one of the great American humorists in the tradition of Mark Twain, Will Rogers, and Yogi Berra. The most famous black player of his era shines through the pages of this remarkable autobiography.”

    John B. Holway, author, economics analyst and winner of the Bob Davids Award

  • “[Paige’s] breezy autobiography is colorful, spirited, conversational, and immodest.”

    Amazon.com, editorial review

  • “Lipman…has preserved the flavor and cadence of Paige’s conversation and writes his story honestly, avoiding neither the tragedies nor the escapades which mark his career.” 

    Booklist  

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by David | 12/3/2012

    " Satchel Paige is the greatest voice in American literature. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Jonathan Kistemann | 9/30/2010

    " I've read several books about old Satch, the guy is an immortal figure in baseball. I loved reading about Leroy (Satchel) Paige from his own perspective. Baseball will never have another pitcher like him. It's a true shame he was never allowed to pitch in the majors until he was 42. Loved the book "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Leroy “Satchel” Paige (1906–1982) was an American baseball player whose pitching in the Negro leagues and in Major League Baseball made him a legend in his own lifetime. He was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1971, the first player to be inducted from the Negro leagues.