Marked Man: A Joe Gunther Novel Audiobook, by Archer Mayor Play Audiobook Sample

Marked Man: A Joe Gunther Novel Audiobook

Marked Man: A Joe Gunther Novel Audiobook, by Archer Mayor Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$9.95 for new members!
(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening)
  • Love your audiobook or we'll exchange it
  • No credits to manage, just big savings
  • Unlimited podcast listening
Add to Cart
$9.95/m - cancel anytime - 
learn more
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Tom Taylorson Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 5.67 hours at 1.5x Speed 4.25 hours at 2.0x Speed Series: The Joe Gunther Mysteries Release Date: September 2021 Format: Unabridged Audiobook ISBN: 9781665079679

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

36:43 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

15:37 minutes

Average Chapter Length:

25:12 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by Archer Mayor: > View All...

Publisher Description

The death of a local millionaire becomes suspicious when Joe Gunther learns that he was not who he claimed.

A year ago, local philanthropist and millionaire Nathan Lyon died a natural death in his sprawling mansion, a 150,000-square-foot converted mill, surrounded by his loving, attentive family. Or so it seemed at the time. Now Joe Gunther and his Vermont Bureau of Investigation team has discovered that almost nothing about that story was true. Nathan Lyon was actually Nick Bianchi from Providence, Rhode Island. His money came from Mafia-tainted sources. And his family now seems to be dying themselves and their deaths are now revealed to be murders.

As Gunther’s team desperately works to uncover what is going on at the Mill, who is responsible, and what they are trying to accomplish, Joe himself travels to Rhode Island to look into the original source of the money. While the police are doing their jobs, private investigator Sally Kravitz teams up with reporter Rachel Reiling to expose the truth behind this tangled and expanding web of duplicity, greed, and obsession. Having betrayed many, it’s no surprise that Nathan Lyon was a marked man. But now Gunther has to figure out who, among the many, killed him, and stop them before their killing spree claims another.

Download and start listening now!

“Joe travels to Rhode Island to investigate, along with PI Sally Kravitz and reporter Rachel Reiling, two of Mayor’s many delightful recurring characters. There is a parallel story, too, involving two of Nick’s former associates, who arrive in Brattleboro with a cinematic flourish…to provide the final answers to the puzzle…It’s been clear for quite awhile that Mayor’s series—a perfect mix of character, setting, and story—is one of the best American police procedurals going.”

— Booklist (starred review) 


  • “Superb…Mayor matches vivid characters with clever plot twists.”

    — Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • “Pay[s] off with a handsome surprise just when you think Mayor couldn’t possibly surprise you again. A deep dive into a mall-sized closet full of skeletons.”

    — Kirkus Reviews

Marked Man Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Archer Mayor

Archer Mayor is the New York Times bestselling author of the highly acclaimed Vermont-based series of mystery novels featuring detective Joe Gunther. He is a past winner of the New England Book Award for his body of work, the first time a writer of crime literature has been so honored. He also works as a death investigator, a sheriff’s deputy, and a volunteer firefighter and EMT in Vermont.

About Tom Taylorson

Tom Taylorson is an Earphones Award–winning narrator and Chicago-based actor with over a decade of stage experience. In that time he also built a voice-over career and now primarily works as a voice actor. Tom is an adjunct faculty member at Columbia College Chicago, teaching voice-over for interactive media.