March Forward, Girl: From Young Warrior to Little Rock Nine Audiobook, by Melba Pattillo Beals Play Audiobook Sample

March Forward, Girl: From Young Warrior to Little Rock Nine Audiobook

March Forward, Girl: From Young Warrior to Little Rock Nine Audiobook, by Melba Pattillo Beals Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95
$9.95 for new members!
(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening)
  • Love your audiobook or we'll exchange it
  • No credits to manage, just big savings
  • Unlimited podcast listening
Add to Cart
$9.95/m - cancel anytime - 
learn more
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Janina Edwards Publisher: Dreamscape Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 3.00 hours at 1.5x Speed 2.25 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: January 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook ISBN: 9781520091457

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

19:30 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

43 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

11:29 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by Melba Pattillo Beals: > View All...

Publisher Description

Long before she was one of the Little Rock Nine, Melba Pattillo Beals was a warrior. Frustrated by the laws that kept African-Americans separate but very much unequal to whites, she had questions: Why couldn’t she drink from a whites only fountain? Why couldn’t she feel safe beyond home—or even within the walls of church? Adults all told her: Hold your tongue. Be patient. Know your place. But Beals had the heart of a fighter—and the knowledge that her true place was a free one.

This memoir paints a vivid picture of Beals’ powerful early journey on the road to becoming a champion for equal rights, an acclaimed journalist, a bestselling author, and the recipient of this country’s highest recognition, the Congressional Gold Medal.

Download and start listening now!

“Beals’ memoir…relays her emotions—from pain, fear, and confusion to lost innocence, indignation, and justified anger—in a way that young listeners will easily access and understand. Edwards reflects this in her narration and deftly uses her voice to express that range of emotions. Her conversational tone strikes a perfect balance between conveying the subject’s seriousness and making listeners feel they are hearing a young girl tell her story.”

— Booklist (starred review) 


  • “A visceral and vital memoir…[that] recounts growing up African-American in 1940s Arkansas ‘under the umbrella of the rules and traditions of my oppression.’"

    — Publishers Weekly (starred review)


  • A Booklist Top 10 of Best Biographies on Audio

March Forward, Girl Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Melba Pattillo Beals

Melba Patillo Beals is the author of several books, including Warriors Don’t Cry, winner of the Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Book Award and the American Library Association Award. She received this country’s highest honor, the Congressional Gold Medal, for her role, as a fifteen-year-old, in the integration of Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas. A retired university professor with a doctorate in international multicultural education, she is a former KQED television broadcaster, NBC television news reporter, ABC radio talk-show host, and writer for various magazines, including Family Circle and People.

About Janina Edwards

Janina Edwards, an Earphones Award–winning narrator, is a native of Chicago and a graduate of New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts acting program. Her 2016 performance of Voice of Freedom was a finalist for the Audie Award.