Extended Audio Sample

Download Lying in Wait: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Lying in Wait: A Novel Audiobook, by Liz Nugent Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Liz Nugent Narrator: Caoilfhionn Dunne, David McFetridge, Lesley McGuire Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2018 ISBN: 9781508256748
Regular Price: $17.99 Add to Cart
— or —
BEST PRICE!
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

From the international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver, an “unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page” (Irish Times) about a Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are suddenly revealed.

“My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.”

On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect life—wife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydia’s son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax.

For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this novel is a “seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouncement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre” (Sunday Mirror).

Download and start listening now!

cfza

Quotes & Awards

  • “An exquisitely uncomfortable, utterly captivating reading experience.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “A tense, taut, almost gothic thriller…Impossible to stop reading.”

    Marian Keyes, author of The Break

  • “Taut, crisp, clear, a storm-warning of a book. It has the eeriness of The Turn of the Screw; but as these screws turn, a mighty tension takes hold. Masterly.”

    Sebastian Barry, author of Days without End

  • Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Award
  • Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Award
  • Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Award
  • Winner of the Irish Book Award
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Liz Nugent is the author whose debut novel, Unravelling Oliver, won the Crime Fiction Prize in the 2014 Irish Book Awards. Her second novel, Lying in Wait, went straight to number one on the Irish bestseller charts, remained there for nearly two months, and won her a second Irish Book Award. She has worked in Irish film, theater, and television for most of her adult life. She is an award-winning writer of radio and television drama and has also written prize-winning short stories both for children and adults.

About the Narrator

Lesley McGuire is a voice talent and audiobook narrator.