Lying in Wait: A Novel Audiobook, by Liz Nugent Play Audiobook Sample

Lying in Wait: A Novel Audiobook

Lying in Wait: A Novel Audiobook, by Liz Nugent Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $17.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Caoilfhionn Dunne, David McFetridge, Lesley McGuire Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 5.67 hours at 1.5x Speed 4.25 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: June 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781508256748

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:

30

Longest Chapter Length:

29:47 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

43 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

17:07 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:

4

Other Audiobooks Written by Liz Nugent: > View All...

Publisher Description

From the international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver comes a “dark, captivating psychological thriller” (People) lauded by A.J. Finn—#1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window—as “extraordinary…crackles and snaps like a bonfire on a winter’s night.”

My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.

On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect life: married to a respected judge, mother of a beloved son, living in the beautiful house where she was raised. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydia’s son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax.

For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this is “a devastating psychological thriller...an exquisitely uncomfortable, utterly captivating reading experience” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

Download and start listening now!

“A devastating psychological thriller…Lydia is the most intriguing puzzle; equal parts victim and villain, she simultaneously inspires pity, outrage, and horror. The result is an exquisitely uncomfortable, utterly captivating reading experience.”

— Publishers Weekly (boxed and starred review) 

Quotes

  • “Lying in Wait crackles and snaps like a bonfire on a winter’s night; you shudder even as you draw closer to it. Spellbinding.”

    — A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author
  • “[A] dark, captivating psychological thriller.”

    — People
  • “A tense, taut, almost gothic thriller…Impossible to stop reading.”

    — Marian Keyes, author of The Break
  • “Taut, crisp, clear, a storm-warning of a book. It has the eeriness of The Turn of the Screw; but as these screws turn, a mighty tension takes hold. Masterly.”

    — Sebastian Barry, author of Days without End

Awards

  • Winner of the Irish Book Award
  • An Indie Next List selection
  • A BookPage Top Pick of Mysteries with Psychological Twists

Lying in Wait Listener Reviews

Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 (5.00)
5 Stars: 1
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Narration: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 (5.00)
5 Stars: 1
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Story: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 (5.00)
5 Stars: 1
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — kim topping, 9/25/2022

About Liz Nugent

Liz Nugent is the author whose debut novel, Unravelling Oliver, won the Crime Fiction Prize in the 2014 Irish Book Awards. Her second novel, Lying in Wait, went straight to number one on the Irish bestseller charts, remained there for nearly two months, and won her a second Irish Book Award. She has worked in Irish film, theater, and television for most of her adult life. She is an award-winning writer of radio and television drama and has also written prize-winning short stories both for children and adults.

About Lesley McGuire

Lesley McGuire is a voice talent and audiobook narrator.