Extended Audio Sample

Download Loud Awake and Lost Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Loud Awake and Lost Audiobook, by Adele Griffin Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Adele Griffin Narrator: Abby Craden Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: November 2013 ISBN: 9780804123686
Regular Price: $23.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

There was an accident. Ember knows at least that much. She was driving. The car was totaled. Eight months later, Ember feels broken. She can’t even remember the six weeks of her life leading up to the accident. Where was she going? Who was she with? And what happened during those six weeks that her friends and family won’t talk about?
 
In the wake of her critically praised young adult psychological thrillers, Tighter and All You Never Wanted, National Book Award finalist Adele Griffin has created another triumph in this unflinching story of loss and recovery that Booklist called “exquisite” in a starred review.


From the Hardcover edition. Download and start listening now!

anx1

Quotes & Awards

  • Griffin's trademark atmospheric style is firmly intact. This moody romantic mystery will hit the spot for fans of Kat Rosenfield's Amelia Ann Is Dead and Gone and Nova Ren Suma's Imaginary Girls."
  • School Library Journal, November 2013:
  • Griffin has crafted a story with well-developed characters and a suspenseful plot that keeps readers turning pages. Her exploration of traumatic brain injury, in particular the role memory can play in the healing process, adds depth as well as potential points of entry for discussion."
  • The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, December 2013:
  • The device of the accident adds drama and mystery, but it’s also a very clever way to explore the significance of the common teenage experience of redefinition and its impact...The lure of secret romance and just plain secret secrets will draw readers to this inventive take on changing teen identity."
  • VOYA, December 2013:
  • National Book Award finalist Adele Griffin creates yet another worthy young adult thriller, a compelling page-turner with a gut-wrenching plot twist...Fans of Griffin will be eagerly awaiting this title, and this latest standalone is sure to gain her many new ones."
  • Starred Review, Booklist, November 1, 2013
    "Two-time National Book Award finalist Griffin continues her exploration of the inner workings of the mind in this moving and surprising story...Griffin’s writing is exquisite, teasing meaning and memory from her sentences."
  • Kirkus Reviews, August 15, 2013:
  • Readers will feel right at home with the dialogue; sarcasm, glee and angst are spoken in pitch-perfect teenagese...Ember’s unraveling of the mystery is compelling enough to keep the pages turning quickly and steadily. The startling conclusion itself is worth the ride."
  • Publishers Weekly, September 30, 2013:
  • Piecing together a teen’s forgotten past is the object of this mesmerizing romance set in the aftermath of a horrific car accident...An intriguing and chilling mental exercise."
  • Shelf Awareness, December 3, 2013:
  • “Two-time National Book Award finalist, Griffin continues her exploration of the inner workings of the mind in this moving and surprising story…Griffin’s writing is exquisite, teasing meaning and memory from her sentences.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Piecing together a teen’s forgotten past is the object of this mesmerizing romance set in the aftermath of a horrific car accident…An intriguing and chilling mental exercise.”

    Publishers Weekly 

  • “Griffin has crafted a story with well-developed characters and a suspenseful plot that keeps readers turning pages. Her exploration of traumatic brain injury, in particular the role memory can play in the healing process, adds depth as well as potential points of entry for discussion.”

    School Library Journal

  • “Readers will feel right at home with the dialogue; sarcasm, glee, and angst are spoken in pitch-perfect teenagese…Ember’s unraveling of the mystery is compelling enough to keep the pages turning quickly and steadily. The startling conclusion itself is worth the ride.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Adele Griffin

Adele Griffin is a two-time National Book Award finalist and the highly acclaimed author of numerous books for young adult and middle-grade readers. Her works include Sons of Liberty and Where I Want to Be, as well as the popular Witch Twins and Vampire Island series. She lives with her husband, their two children, and their dog in Brooklyn.

About the Narrator

Abby Craden has been a professional actress and voice artist for over sixteen years and can be heard in numerous television and radio commercials, video games, and audiobooks. She has twice won the AudioFile Earphones Award.