Extended Audio Sample

Download Lost Empire: A Fargo Adventure Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Lost Empire: A Fargo Adventure Audiobook, by Clive Cussler Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 5 3.67 (15 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Clive Cussler, Grant Blackwood Narrator: Richard Poe Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: August 2010 ISBN: 9781101436707
Regular Price: $17.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Sam and Remi Fargo, heroes of Spartan Gold, return in this extraordinary new adventure from the New York Times bestselling author.

With Spartan Gold, Clive Cussler introduced husband-and-wife treasure-hunting team Sam and Remi Fargo. In their electrifying new adventure, the Fargos make a startling discovery that others would kill to keep hidden.

While scuba diving in Tanzania, Sam and Remi Fargo come upon a relic belonging to a long-lost Confederate ship. An anomaly about the relic sets them off chasing a mystery—but unknown to them, a much more powerful force is engaged in the same chase. Mexico’s ruling party, the ultranationalist Mexica Tenochca, is intent on finding that artifact as well, because it contains a secret that could destroy the party utterly.

Through Tanzania and Zanzibar, into the rainforests of Madagascar, and across the Indian Ocean to Indonesia and the legendary site of the 1883 Krakatoa explosion, the Fargos and their ruthless opponents pursue the hunt—but only one can win. And the penalty for failure is death.

Filled with the dazzling suspense and breathtaking action that are Cussler’s trademarks, Lost Empire is a stunning new novel from the grand master of adventure.

Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_001571

Quotes & Awards

  • “Fans of Mathew Reilly and James Rollins will revel in this treasure-hunting adventure.”

    Booklist

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Larissa | 6/29/2011

    " I really love Clive Cusslers sytle of writing and stroytelling! A fast, mystery/educational read! Another good one by Cussler that led me to google many interesting new subjects I want to learn about - Aztecs/Madagascar... "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Deb | 5/29/2011

    " Cussler is one of my escape fiction authors. Almost always learn some interesting trivia. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Charlie | 5/19/2011

    " This the first Fargo Adventure story that I have read. It is very good. It good to have new charactors in the stories. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jeff | 5/13/2011

    " So far, I like this book more than the first book in the Fargo series. I find Civil War privateers and Aztecs more interesting than Napoleon's wine cellar. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mark | 5/8/2011

    " Characters Sam and Remi Fargo take Clive Cussler's adventurous style into a National Treasure style travel hunt. Frankly, these books are just fun and different enough from Clive's other adventures to make them a great read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 April | 4/28/2011

    " Listening to this on CD to prepare for Kingdom, the next Fargo adventure "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Dave | 4/27/2011

    " This was a great book! One of the best for Clive. Enjoy the couple sam and remmi. Very exciting and held the historical part really well. Loved reading about the connection of the the 1883 explosion of the volcano and the ship mystery. Recommend it to any cussler fan! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sarah | 4/22/2011

    " More fun and adventure from Cussler. Love the way he takes us all over the world in his adventures with husband and wife, Sam and Remi Fargo. This adventure takes us back to the origins of the Aztecs and the Civil War. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Stephanie | 4/21/2011

    " I love Clive Cussler novels, but this isn't one of my favorites...just couldn't get into the Fargo characters. The book did follow the same outline that most of his other books did, but I prefer Pitt or some of the other characters. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bradley | 4/12/2011

    " Book was alright, but the Fargo's aren't my favorite series that Cussler's associated with. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sheldon | 4/9/2011

    " 2nd book in this series: it was very enjoyable. A "National Treasure" type story. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Anandh | 3/27/2011

    " Great plot, action and suspense. The rightly written script provides excitement and fun right through the end. There are no 'anti climatic' ends unlike some of his other best sellers but otherwise decent book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Rick | 3/20/2011

    " OK - but have read better
    "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bryan | 3/19/2011

    " Not bad, just not as good as some of Cussler's other work. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jose | 3/17/2011

    " Unfortunately the Abridge version was a little to simplistic... I bet the unabrdige version has a lot more facts and adventure, which is what I enjyoed on the first book of the series... "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Clive Cussler

Clive Cussler, an internationally recognized authority on shipwrecks and the founder of the National Underwater and Marine Agency, began writing novels in 1965. He published his first work featuring continuous series hero Dirk Pitt in 1973. His first nonfiction, The Sea Hunters, was released in 1996. The Board of Governors of the State University of New York Maritime College considered The Sea Hunters in lieu of a PhD thesis and awarded Cussler a doctor of letters degree in May 1997. It was the first time since the college was founded in 1874 that such a degree was bestowed. His books, many of which are New York Times bestsellers, have been published in more than forty languages in more than one hundred countries. He splits his time between Arizona and Colorado.

About the Narrator

Richard Poe has worked extensively in movies, television, and on Broadway. He is best known for his portrayal of Gul Evek in three different Star Trek series: Star Trek: The Next Generation, Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, and Star Trek: Voyager. He is a well-known and prolific audiobook narration who has won twelve AudioFile Earphones Awards.