Extended Audio Sample

Download Longbourn Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Longbourn, by Jo Baker Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jo Baker Narrator: Emma Fieldin Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $22.50 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

“If Elizabeth Bennet had the washing of her own petticoats, Sarah often thought: She’d most likely be a sight more careful with them.”

In this irresistibly imagined below-stairs answer to Pride and Prejudice, the servants take center stage. Sarah, the orphaned housemaid, spends her days scrubbing the laundry, polishing the floors, and emptying the chamber pots for the Bennet household. But there is just as much romance, heartbreak, and intrigue downstairs at Longbourn as there is upstairs. When a mysterious new footman arrives, the orderly realm of the servants’ hall threatens to be completely, perhaps irrevocably, upended.

Jo Baker dares to take us beyond the drawing rooms of Jane Austen’s classic—into the often overlooked domain of the stern housekeeper and the starry-eyed kitchen maid, into the gritty daily particulars faced by the lower classes in Regency England during the Napoleonic Wars—and, in doing so, creates a vivid, fascinating, fully realized world that is wholly her own.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Captivating…A brilliantly imagined and lovingly told story about the wide world beyond the margins and outside the parlors of Pride and Prejudice.”

    Maggie Shipstead, New York Times bestselling author of Seating Arrangements

  • “Just enough Darcy to delight, as well as being a fascinating insight into the harsh working conditions of life in a grand house two-hundred years ago.”

    Good Housekeeping

  • “A witty, richly detailed re-imagining…Fans of Austen and Downton Abbey will take particular pleasure in Longbourn, but any reader with a taste for well-researched historical fiction will delight in Baker’s involving, informative tale.”


  • “Ingenious…Rich, engrossing…Fascinating.”

    O, The Oprah Magazine

  • “A fitting tribute inventing a touching love story of its own.”

    Wall Street Journal

  • “Surprising…and brilliant on every level.”

    USA Today

  • “There’s a finale so back-of-the-hand-to-the-forehead romantic, someone should render it in needlepoint.”

    Entertainment Weekly

  • “A freshly egalitarian reimagining.”


  • “Gripping…Original and charming.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “Jo Baker pulls off the seemingly impossible: a completely fresh take on Austen…Utterly engrossing.”

    Guardian (London)

  • “The Bennet family’s servants imagined by Baker have richly complicated lives and loyalties…Baker deserves a bouquet…Refreshing.”

    Seattle Times

  • “Excellent…In Sarah the housemaid, Baker has created a heroine, living in the same house as Elizabeth Bennet, who manages to shine despite Elizabeth’s long literary shadow.”

    Christian Science Monitor

  • “Irresistible…Sequels and prequels rarely add to the original, but Baker’s simple yet inspired reimagining does. It has bestseller stamped all over it.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “[A] vivid re-imagining of Pride and Prejudice…Baker offers deeper insight into Austen’s minor characters…Baker takes many surprising risks in developing the relationships between the servants and the Bennetts, but the end result steers clear of gimmick and flourishes as a respectful and moving retelling. A must-read for fans of Austen, this literary tribute also stands on its own as a captivating love story.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Elizabeth and Darcy take a backseat in this engrossing Austen homage…Baker vividly evokes the lives of the lower classes in nineteenth-century England, from trips in the rain to distant shops to the struggles of an infantryman in the Napoleonic Wars. She takes a few liberties with Austen’s characters—Wickham’s behavior takes on a more sinister aspect here—but mostly Austen’s novel serves as a backdrop for the compelling stories of the characters who keep the Bennet household running.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Emma Fielding’s performance is quietly appealing…Fielding turns characters into genuine individuals…Fielding’s fine portrayals offer moments of hope and awakening for the characters and, for listeners, bittersweet awareness of Sarah’s life and the lives of her downstairs family. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”


  • “Baker is a real and very fine writer, and Longbourn stands on its own as an engrossing, intelligent historical novel.” 

    James Collins, author of Beginner’s Greek

  • Selected for the October 2013 Indie Next List
  • One of the New York Times Book Review 100 Notable Books of 2013
  • A 2013 BookPage Best Book
  • A 2013 New York Times Editor’s Choice
  • An NPR Bestseller
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • A Seattle Times Best Book of 2013
  • One of Kirkus Reviews’ Best Books of 2013
  • A Guardian Best Book of the Year for 2013
  • A Christian Science Monitor Best Book of Fiction for 2013
  • A London Daily Mail Best Book of 2013
  • A Miami Herald Favorite Book of 2013
  • An October 2013 LibraryReads Pick
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations