Extended Audio Sample

Download Little Mercies Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Little Mercies Audiobook, by Heather Gudenkauf Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Heather Gudenkauf Narrator: Kate Rudd, Tanya Eby Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2014 ISBN: 9781480586550
Regular Price: $14.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In her latest ripped-from-the-headlines tour de force, New York Times bestselling author Heather Gudenkauf shows how one small mistake can have life-altering consequences.…

Veteran social worker Ellen Moore has seen the worst side of humanity—the vilest acts one person can commit against another. She is a fiercely dedicated children's advocate and a devoted mother and wife. But one blistering summer day, a simple moment of distraction will have repercussions that Ellen could never have imagined, threatening to shatter everything she holds dear, and trapping her between the gears of the system she works for.

Meanwhile, ten-year-old Jenny Briard has been living with her well-meaning but irresponsible father since her mother left them, sleeping on friends' couches and moving in and out of cheap motels. When Jenny suddenly finds herself on her own, she is forced to survive with nothing but a few dollars and her street smarts. The last thing she wants is a social worker, but when Ellen's and Jenny's lives collide, little do they know just how much they can help one another.

A powerful and emotionally charged tale about motherhood and justice, Little Mercies is a searing portrait of the tenuous grasp we have on the things we love the most, and of the ties that unexpectedly bring us together.

Download and start listening now!

baqj

Quotes & Awards

  • “This novel focuses on a fear that preys on every parent’s mind while simultaneously showcasing the ‘could never happen to me’ mentality. Gudenkauf is excellent at conveying the emotion and domino effect that can result from a moment’s mistake. Meanwhile, Jenny’s story is one many readers will have seen in reality many times: that of a child who simply slips through the cracks.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • “Gudenkauf is back with a riveting, fast-paced story…This work combines page-turning intensity with deep questions about priorities and the sacrifices women make in their lives.”

    Library Journal

  • “A story of motherhood, guilt, and redemption, Little Mercies examines our deepest fears and highest hopes. Gudenkauf’s prose is searingly raw, as Ellen’s confusion, guilt, and pain are laid bare. Thrilling and emotionally tender, this novel, with its driving pace, will appeal to fans of Lisa Scottoline and Jodi Picoult.”

    Booklist

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Heather Gudenkauf

Heather Gudenkauf is the critically acclaimed and New York Times bestselling author of The Weight of Silence, These Things Hidden, One Breath Away and Little Mercies. She lives in Iowa with her husband and children.

About the Narrators

Kate Rudd, actress and award-winning narrator,was born and raised in Michigan. As an actress she has appeared in several independent films and shorts, as well as in multiple episodes of the television show Perks. As an audiobook narrator she was a finalist for the 2013 Audie Award for The Fault in Our Stars. She is also a member of the multinarrator productions for October Mourning and Wonder, which were also 2013 finalists for Audie Awards. She has won seven AudioFile Earphones Awards.

Tanya Eby is a narrator and novelist who has narrated more than fifty New York Times and USA Today bestsellers, earning two AudioFile Earphones Awards. She has a BA in English language and literature from Grand Valley State University and an MFA in creative writing from the University of Southern Maine. She lives in Grand Rapids, Michigan, with her children.