Extended Audio Sample

Download Little Mercies Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Little Mercies, by Heather Gudenkauf Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Heather Gudenkauf Narrator: Tanya Eby Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $14.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Veteran social worker Ellen Moore has seen the worst side of humanity—the vilest acts one person can commit against another. She is a fiercely dedicated children’s advocate and a devoted mother and wife. But one blistering summer day, a simple moment of distraction will have repercussions that Ellen could never have imagined, threatening to shatter everything she holds dear and trapping her between the gears of the system she works for.

Meanwhile, ten-year-old Jenny Briard has been living with her well-meaning but irresponsible father since her mother left them, sleeping on friends’ couches and moving in and out of cheap motels. When Jenny suddenly finds herself on her own, she is forced to survive with nothing but a few dollars and her street smarts. The last thing she wants is a social worker, but when Ellen’s and Jenny’s lives collide, little do they know just how much they can help one another.

A powerful and emotionally-charged tale about motherhood, loyalty, and justice, Little Mercies is a can’t-look-away portrait of a rescuer who needs rescuing, and a reminder of the tenuous connections that we have to those we love the most and the unexpected moments that save us from ourselves.

Download and start listening now!

baqj

Quotes & Awards

  • “This novel focuses on a fear that preys on every parent’s mind while simultaneously showcasing the ‘could never happen to me’ mentality. Gudenkauf is excellent at conveying the emotion and domino effect that can result from a moment’s mistake. Meanwhile, Jenny’s story is one many readers will have seen in reality many times: that of a child who simply slips through the cracks.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • “Gudenkauf is back with a riveting, fast-paced story…This work combines page-turning intensity with deep questions about priorities and the sacrifices women make in their lives.”

    Library Journal

  • “A story of motherhood, guilt, and redemption, Little Mercies examines our deepest fears and highest hopes. Gudenkauf’s prose is searingly raw, as Ellen’s confusion, guilt, and pain are laid bare. Thrilling and emotionally tender, this novel, with its driving pace, will appeal to fans of Lisa Scottoline and Jodi Picoult.”

    Booklist

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations