Lindy Lee: Songs on Mill Hill Audio Collection Audiobook, by Kimberly Simms Play Audiobook Sample

Download Lindy Lee: Songs on Mill Hill Audio Collection Audiobook

Lindy Lee: Songs on Mill Hill Audio Collection Audiobook, by Kimberly Simms Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $15.95 Add to Cart
Author: Kimberly Simms Narrator: Kimberly Simms Publisher: Author's Republic Audio Length: Release Date: April 2017 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781518947261

Publisher Description

This short collections of poetry contains poems from the new full collection, Lindy Lee: Songs on Mill Hill written by Kimberly Simms. This book is for the history buff, student, and poetry lover alike.

Included poems:

  • “The Cotton Mill’s Song”
  • “Mama’s Song”
  • “The Ugly Jug”
  • “Dip”
  • “Cliff Jump”
  • “Lindy Lee’s Trout Breakfast”
  • “Hop Along Little Crown”
  • “Brother’s Mess of Crosses”
  • “Blue Panes”

Download and start listening now!


  • “Focused on a life sewn into mill town culture of the early twentieth century and on through the sixties, Kimberly Simms’ Lindy Lee: Songs on Mill Hill reignite an important (but often forgotten) crux of the South’s history. These are not lugubrious, nostalgia-laden poems longing for a South that never was: they are, in sum, a beautiful lens through which to celebrate and record the joys and hardships of a charged, mythic, and sweat-soaked place, its kin and kith, and the microcosmic realities that gather to form a dynamism, a culture still moving, abiding in memory and the heart.”

    - William Wright
  • “With an eye for keen and often surprising details, Kimberly Simms captures the cadence, the splendor, and the heartache of the lives of Southern textile mill workers. These poems of sorrow, joy, and redemption are the sort of literary experience that stick with you longer after the final line has fallen into an echo.”

    - Ryan G. Van Cleave
  • “Innovative and entertaining. Often Simms reminds me of Rita Dove’s THOMAS AND BEULAH, the ability to capture a whole human life in only a few carefully-crafted lines. Simms blends the folk-road with the erudite, makes the plain-spoken country-speak stand for the deepest spiritual constructs with our souls. I’ve read this collection several times for the delight and the surprise. I strongly suspect other readers will too. What a new craftsman is here!”

    - Paul Allen

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!