Extended Audio Sample

Download Liar: A Memoir Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Liar: A Memoir Audiobook, by Rob Roberge Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Rob Roberge Narrator: Rob Roberge Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2016 ISBN: 9780399567018
Regular Price: $18.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A darkly funny, intense memoir of addiction and recovery, memory and storytelling, from an acclaimed novelist.

When Rob Roberge learns that he’s likely to have developed a progressive memory-eroding disease from years of hard living and frequent concussions, he is terrified by the prospect of losing the essence of who he is. He sets out to (somewhat faithfully) record the most formative moments of his life—ranging from the brutal murder of his childhood girlfriend, to opening for famed indie band Yo La Tengo at the Fillmore in San Francisco—in a desperate attempt to preserve his identity. Over the course of this list-making and soul-searching, Roberge wrings the blackest of comedy from absurdity and tackles the creative and destructive forces that fuel us, asking why we choose to live, even in the midst of so much unrelenting pain.

Into this fabric of his own experiences he weaves short takes of the historic events that have contributed to his understanding of the world, moments that allow him to further investigate the distorting chasm that exists between the facts and the emotional truth of our lives. Through the mining of Roberge’s deep personal struggle and the twisted journey that facilitates his survival, Liar reminds us of the fallibility of memory and the importance of the stories we tell ourselves about ourselves.

Download and start listening now!

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Rob Roberge is the author of four books of fiction, most recently The Cost of Living. He teaches creative writing and his work has been widely anthologized. He also plays guitar and sings with a Los Angeles-based band.