Leonora in the Morning Light Audiobook, by Michaela Carter Play Audiobook Sample

Leonora in the Morning Light Audiobook

Leonora in the Morning Light Audiobook, by Michaela Carter Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $23.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Michaela Carter, Cassandra Campbell, Fiona Hardingham, Jacques Roy Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 8.50 hours at 1.5x Speed 6.38 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: April 2021 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781797117805

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:

54

Longest Chapter Length:

64:53 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

42 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

14:16 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:

1

Publisher Description

For fans of Amy Bloom’s White Houses and Colm Tóibín’s The Master, a page-turning novel about Surrealist artist Leonora Carrington and the art, drama, and romance that defined her coming-of-age during World War II.

1940. A train carrying exiled German prisoners from a labor camp arrives in southern France. Within moments, word spreads that Nazi capture is imminent, and the men flee for the woods, desperate to disappear across the Spanish border. One stays behind, determined to ride the train until he reaches home, to find a woman he refers to simply as “her.”

1937. Leonora Carrington is a twenty-year-old British socialite and painter dreaming of independence when she meets Max Ernst, an older, married artist whose work has captivated Europe. She follows him to Paris, into the vibrant revolutionary world of studios and cafes where rising visionaries of the Surrealist movement like Andre Breton, Pablo Picasso, Lee Miller, Man Ray, and Salvador Dali are challenging conventional approaches to art and life. Inspired by their freedom, Leonora begins to experiment with her own work, translating vivid stories of her youth onto canvas and gaining recognition under her own name. It is a bright and glorious age of enlightenment—until the shadow of war looms over Europe and headlines emerge denouncing Max and his circle as “degenerates,” leading to his arrest and imprisonment. Left along as occupation spreads throughout the countryside, Leonora battles terrifying circumstances to survive, reawakening past demons that threaten to consume her.

As Leonora and Max embark on remarkable journeys together and apart, the full story of their tumultuous and passionate love affair unfolds, spanning time and borders as they seek to reunite and reclaim their creative power in a world shattered by war. When their paths cross with Peggy Guggenheim, an art collector and socialite working to help artists escape to America, nothing will be the same.

Based on true events and historical figures, Leonora in the Morning Light is an unforgettable story of love, art, and destiny that restores a twentieth-century heroine to her rightful place in our collective imagination.

Download and start listening now!

“A fascinating read that offers insights into the dreamlike work of the artist…Michaela Carter’s rich prose pulled me in, and her haunting portrait of Leonora Carrington kept me turning pages.”

— Nancy Horan, New York Times bestselling author  

Quotes

  • “A satisfying historical novel about love, art, and war… Carter meditates beautifully on the unique difficulties of being a woman artist.”

    — Kirkus Reviews
  • “Leonora in the Morning Light is breathtaking and bold, formidably well researched, and entrancingly beautiful.”

    — Kate Christensen, PEN/Faulkner award-winning author of The Great Man

Awards

  • An Oprah Magazine Pick of Books That Will Sweep You Away
  • A Literary Hub Pick of Most Anticipated Books of 2021

Leonora in the Morning Light Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Michaela Carter

Fiona Hardingham is a British-born actress, singer, voice-over artist, and AudioFile Earphones Award–winning narrator. On stage, she appeared at the Edinburgh Festival in her comedic one-woman show The Dark Show. She has also starred in the dark-comedy short film The Ballerino. She earned a BA honors degree in performing arts from Middlesex University, London, and also studied at the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts.

About the Narrators

Cassandra Campbell has won multiple Audie Awards, Earphones Awards, and the prestigious Odyssey Award for narration. She was been named a “Best Voice” by AudioFile magazine and in 2018 was inducted in Audible’s inaugural Narrator Hall of Fame.

Fiona Hardingham is a British-born actress, singer, voice-over artist, and AudioFile Earphones Award–winning narrator. On stage, she appeared at the Edinburgh Festival in her comedic one-woman show The Dark Show. She has also starred in the dark-comedy short film The Ballerino. She earned a BA honors degree in performing arts from Middlesex University, London, and also studied at the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts.

Jacques Roy is a audio narrator and actor, known for The Lower Angels and Room and Board.