Left: A Love Story Audiobook, by Mary Hogan Play Audiobook Sample

Download Left: A Love Story Audiobook

Left: A Love Story Audiobook, by Mary Hogan Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $17.99 Add to Cart
Author: Mary Hogan Narrator: Jane Oppenheimer Publisher: HarperCollins Audio Length: Release Date: June 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780062850515

Publisher Description

In this beautifully crafted novel from the author of the critically-acclaimed Two Sisters, comes the story of a woman who retreats into a fantasy world on New York City’s Upper West Side as she slowly loses her once whip-smart husband to dementia—perfect for fans of Still Alice.

When life falls apart, a little fantasy goes a long way…

It started as a dream vacation in Spain, with Fay and Paul Agarra enjoying all the delights of a European holiday. A respected New York City judge, Paul has always been the man Fay can rely on, no matter what. When he inexplicably disappears from a Barcelona street corner, Fay knows something is terribly wrong. Once reunited, Paul shrugs off the episode as a simple misunderstanding—but Fay suspects her almost perfect life has taken a dark and sudden turn.

Soon there are more signs that Paul is beginning to change. Bouts of forgetfulness lead to mistakes in the courtroom. Simple tasks cause unexplainable outbursts of anger. Fay’s worst suspicions are realized when she learns her husband—her rock, her love, her everything—is succumbing to the ravages of dementia. 

As her husband transforms before her very eyes, Fay copes with her fears by retreating into a fantasy life filled with promise instead of pain. In Fay’s invented world, she imagines herself living a glamorous life free from heartache, with a handsome neighbor she barely knows rescuing her from a future she can’t accept. 

Poignant and beautifully crafted, Left is an unforgettable tale about life’s aching uncertainties—and a woman who discovers that somewhere between hope and reality, an unexpected future will find its way forward.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Poignantly portrays Fay’s struggle to come to terms with Paul’s dementia while opening up (but never attempting to resolve) uncomfortable yet necessary questions about the conditions of love.”

    - Publishers Weekly
  • “Book clubs will find much to discuss in this fraught, fascinating family drama.”

    - Booklist

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Mary Hogan is the NAPPA Award–winning author of several young adult novels and the novel Two Sisters. Her writing has appeared in various publications, including Woman’s Day, Family Circle, and Fitness. She lives in New York City with her husband and their dog Lucy.