Extended Audio Sample

Lavender Lies Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Lavender Lies, by Susan Wittig Albert Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,301 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Susan Wittig Albert Narrator: Susan Wittig Albert Publisher: Highbridge Audio Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The China Bayles Mysteries Release Date:
Regular Price: $12.57 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $11.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

The exploits of ex-lawyer and herbalist China Bayles continue.

In Lavender Lies, the eighth volume in the series, China must put her upcoming nuptials on the back burner when a murder investigation entangles her friends and neighbors.

“Good riddance,” is the response of every Pecan Spring resident to the murder of Edgar Coleman, a local real estate shark. With the small-town gossip mill running full tilt, it doesn’t take long for China to learn that Coleman was no stranger to adultery and blackmail.

With her fiancé, the interim police chief, immersed in the murder investigation—and the suspect list growing longer by the minute—China can forget about a honeymoon; that is, unless she can find the killer. As China investigates, she starts digging up dirt on people she knows—and unearthing secrets that were best left six feet under.

Download and start listening now!


Listener Reviews

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Review by Laurie | 2/10/2014

    " I've only read 3 China Bayle mysteries so far, but this is my favorite right now "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Review by Linda | 1/29/2014

    " Herbalist and detective China Bayles is planning her wedding when a town development magnate is murdered. Not trusting her fiance, who is acting police chief, to solve the crime in time for their nuptials, China and her friends get on the trail. No one is town is particularly bothered by the death of a man who seems to have been blackmailing just about the entire town. A subplot involving the daughter of China's dentist becomes part of the mystery. This one's as cozy as they come, with well meaning kids finding the murder weapon and a hurricane threatening to ruin the wedding. Lavender plays no part in the goings on, other than in its guise a a flower that signifies distrust and suspicion. Very light, quick reading. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Review by Amy | 1/25/2014

    " Yet another good book in the China Bayles series. I had no idea who the killer was in this one until it was revealed. Didn't see that one coming at all! "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Review by Jodean | 1/20/2014

    " she's witty and insightful, and i love the herb theme...not exactly Gordimer or Rushdie, but fun, and great company. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Susan Wittig Albert

Susan Wittig Albert is the author of the acclaimed China Bayles mysteries. The first book in the series, Thyme of Death, was nominated for both an Agatha Award and an Anthony Award for Best First novel. Throughout her career, Wittig has written over sixty novels. She cowrote the Robin Paige Victorian Mysteries with her husband, Bill Albert, and wrote a number of Nancy Drew novels under the pen name Carolyn Keene.  She has also written a number of nonfiction works and a memoir entitled Together, Alone: A Memoir of Marriage and Place. Before becoming a full-time novelist, Wittig worked as a university English professor. She lives in Texas.