Extended Audio Sample

Download Kiss Tomorrow Hello: Notes from the Midlife Underground by Twenty-Five Women over Forty Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Kiss Tomorrow Hello: Notes from the Midlife Underground by Twenty-Five Women over Forty Audiobook, by Kim Barnes Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (3 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Kim Barnes, Claire Davis Narrator: A Full Cast Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2008 ISBN: 9781455187140
Regular Price: $20.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $10.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Kiss Tomorrow Hello brings together the experiences and reflections of women as they embark on a new stage of life. The twenty-five stellar writers gathered here explore a wide range of concerns, including keeping love and sex alive, discovering family secrets, negotiating the demands of illness and infertility, letting children go, making peace with parents, and contemplating plastic surgery. The tales are true, the confessions candid, the humor infectious.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A diverse and satisfying mixture of midlife stories…What unites these new essays is their vivid honesty, capturing universal truths and personal experiences in sparkling prose.”

    Library Journal

  • “Those heading toward middle age will find stories that will make them laugh, cry, and think. There’s a full cast of unnamed readers who are quite good and add something to each essay. A wonderful book.”

    Library Journal

  • “Countering the popular wisdom that a woman’s life ends at 35, this volume insists that your 40s and 50s are fabulous…Like a visit with very honest, very smart friends.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “The brutal, bare-all confessions and melancholic remembrances…are delivered flawlessly in voices ranging from sadness to sarcasm, denial, and acceptance. What is remarkable is the way the varied voices—intimate, conspiratorial, totally authentic, natural, and honest—blend into a presentation of shared sisterhood. Middle-aged women won’t want to miss this.”


Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Beverly | 11/10/2009

    " I don't usually go for collections, but I really enjoyed these well written essays. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jenny | 10/1/2009

    " How refreshing to read about real women writing about mid-life issues. Kind of a page turner! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Pris | 9/4/2008

    " Good essays about the changing perceptions of ourselves and our bodies as we begin to age. The women writing these essays did a great job. All are published authors/poets. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Kim Barnes

Kim Barnes is the author of two memoirs and two previous novels, including A Country Called Home, which received the 2009 PEN Center USA Literary Award in fiction and was named a best book of 2008 by the Washington Post, the Kansas City Star, and the Oregonian. She is the recipient of the PEN/Jerard Fund Award for an emerging woman writer of nonfiction, and her first memoir, In the Wilderness, was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize. Her work has appeared in a number of publications and anthologies, including the New York Times; MORE magazine; O Magazine; Good Housekeeping; Fourth Genre; The Georgia Review; Shenandoah; and the Pushcart Prize anthology. Barnes is a professor of writing at the University of Idaho and lives with her husband, the poet Robert Wrigley, on Moscow Mountain.