Extended Audio Sample

Download Kiss of Broken Glass Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Kiss of Broken Glass, by Madeleine Kuderick Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Madeleine Kuderick Narrator: Katie Schorr Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $11.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $11.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In the next seventy-two hours, Kenna may lose everything—her friends, her freedom, and maybe even herself. One kiss of the blade was all it took to get her sent to the psych ward for seventy-two hours. There she will face her addiction to cutting, though the outcome is far from certain.

When fifteen-year-old Kenna is found cutting herself in the school bathroom, she is sent to a facility for a mandatory psychiatric watch. There Kenna meets other kids like her—her roommate, Donya, who’s there for her fifth time; the birdlike Skylar; and Jag, a boy cute enough to make her forget her problems … for a moment.

Madeleine Kuderick’s gripping debut is a darkly beautiful and lyrical novel in verse, perfect for fans of Sonya Sones and Laurie Halse Anderson. Kiss of Broken Glass pulses with emotion and lingers long after the last page.

Download and start listening now!

bc9c

Quotes & Awards

  • “Kenna’s situation and tentative steps toward recovery as she begins to face her demons may open the eyes of some readers.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Each word of the narrative is carefully chosen and the imagery is vivid and descriptive, offering readers a moving story about a serious issue.”

    School Library Journal

  • “Told in finely tuned free verse, this story about self-injury portrays an unusual root cause for cutting: peer pressure…Despite hipster references (John Green, Tony Hawk, Tumblr, Twitter), the simple characterizations could have made for a generic problem novel, but Kuderick’s keen diction and free-verse technique shine. Readers will devour this exposure of anorexia’s cultural cousin.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Madeleine Kuderick writes contemporary YA fiction and poetry. She is published in anthologies and magazines and has spoken at International Reading Association conferences. Madeleine has a bachelor’s degree from the University of South Florida and an MBA from Saint Leo University. She grew up in Oak Park, Illinois, a community with a rich literary tradition, where she was editor-in-chief of the same high school newspaper that Ernest Hemingway wrote for as a teen. She now lives on Florida’s Gulf Coast with her husband and two children.