Extended Audio Sample

Download Killing Pretty: A Sandman Slim Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Killing Pretty: A Sandman Slim Novel, by Richard Kadrey Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Richard Kadrey Narrator: MacLeod Andrews Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Sandman Slim Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Sandman Slim investigates Death’s death in this hip, propulsive urban fantasy through a phantasmagoric Los Angeles rife with murder, mayhem, and magic.

James Stark has met his share of demons and angels, on earth and beyond. Now he’s come face to face with the one entity few care to meet: Death.

Someone has tried to kill Death—ripping the heart right out of him—or rather the body he’s inhabiting. Death needs Sandman Slim’s help. He believes anyone who can beat Lucifer and the old gods at their own game is the only one who can solve his murder.

Stark follows a sordid trail deep into LA’s subterranean world, from vampire-infested nightclubs to talent agencies specializing in mad ghosts, from Weimar Republic mystical societies to sleazy supernatural underground fight and sex clubs. Along the way he meets a mysterious girl—distinguished by a pair of graveyard eyes—as badass as Slim; she happens to be the only person who ever outwitted Death. But escaping her demise has had dire consequences for the rest of the world … and a few others.

For years, Slim has been fighting cosmic forces bent on destroying heaven, hell, and earth. This time, the battle is right here on the gritty streets of the City of Angels, where a very clever, very ballsy killer lies in wait.

Download and start listening now!

bjei

Quotes & Awards

  • “This is a fun one, but be warned: It’s especially dark. What’s most significant about this story is incessantly stubborn James Stark’s evolution as a character, which proves that sometimes people can only grow when they’ve lost nearly everything.”

    RT Book Reviews (4½ stars, Top Pick!)

  • “If your tastes trend to noir grit and L.A. cool, Slim is your man.”

    Barnes & Noble Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog

  • “Urban fantasy fans who place a premium on humor are most likely to enjoy Kadrey’s seventh Sandman Slim novel…[with its] over-the-top entertainment.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Even though his new boss is always asking Stark to walk the straight and narrow, series fans shouldn’t fear that he’s going soft. There’s still plenty of the violence and mayhem that Stark attracts without even trying.”

    Library Journal

  • “The Sandman Slim novels have always had a noirish feel to them, but here the author really embraces the mood…Fans of Chandler, Cain, and Goodis will feel right at home here, even if they don’t usually read urban fantasy, and Kadrey’s readers, naturally, will dive in head first.”

    Booklist

  • “Narrator MacLeod Andrews ably voices Stark’s world-weariness…Andrews produces an enticing cacophony of accents for an international cast, including a Germanic vampire, a Czech zombie hunter, and a timid witch. He brings life to the gritty backdrop of Stark’s world, even though it’s largely a violent realm of death. Andrews grabs listeners and propels them through this dazzling journey from Death to life to, well, death again.”

    AudioFile

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations