Extended Audio Sample

Download Killer Weekend Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Killer Weekend Audiobook, by Ridley Pearson Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (972 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Ridley Pearson Narrator: Christopher Lane Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Walt Fleming Series Release Date: July 2007 ISBN: 9781423321293
Regular Price: $9.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $9.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Eight years ago, in Sun Valley—snowcapped playground for the wealthy and ambitious—all that stood between New York State attorney general Elizabeth Shaler and a knife-wielding killer was local patrolman Walt Fleming. Now Liz Shaler returns to Sun Valley as the crown jewel and keynote speaker for billionaire Patrick Cutter’s world-famous C3, a media and communications conference where the richest, most powerful business tycoons converge. The attorney general, a political lightning rod, is expected to announce her candidacy for president. It’s a media coup for Cutter—but a security nightmare for Walt Fleming, now the county sheriff.

As C3 gets under way, authorities learn of a confirmed threat on Shaler’s life, and various competing interests—the Secret Service, the FBI, Cutter’s own security forces—begin jockeying for jurisdiction. Beyond the logistical nightmare that the conference’s extravagances represent for Sheriff Fleming, he must also contend with a raft of other local concerns: his nephew’s arrest, his wife’s infidelity, the death of a socialite under suspicious circumstances, and a series of apparent maulings by a cougar. Each of these incidents comes to a head just as Shaler’s assassin puts his chillingly precise plan into action.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BRLL_000185

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Garrick | 2/20/2014

    " The is the first of Pearson's books that I've read. Good, standard mystery thriller with enough of a twist at the end to surprise me. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Carol Bailey | 1/30/2014

    " This is a new author for me and now I am anxious to read more of his. The first book has many twists and turns before you get to the end. Really a fast read that keeps your interest.......can't wait to start the second one. Might be tonight. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Morris | 1/21/2014

    " The book had a nice pace and wasn't predicable. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Patricia | 1/14/2014

    " I really enjoyed this book after 50-100 pages. It took a while to get used to who all the characters were. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in this series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tim | 1/9/2014

    " Exciting and well written. 9 of 10 stars. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Joe Pauwels | 1/7/2014

    " I don't like these books nearly as well as the Boldt/Matthews series, but they are still pretty entertaining. This one was a pretty good mystery and it actually kind of made me want to visit Idaho. That can't be easy to do. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kelley | 12/31/2013

    " I heard about the 3rd or 4th of this series on NPR the other morning. I enjoyed the first of this series, and anticipate the rest of the books getting even better. Nothing "great" so far, but easy reading fun. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dave Freas | 12/20/2013

    " A great start to a new series that I hope runs a long time. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jo Stone | 12/14/2013

    " Good read. Love the Walt Fleming character. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kindel | 12/13/2013

    " I thought Killer Weekend was a good read. It was so obvious that the blind guy was the one at the airport. It keep you interested. The ending a twist I didn't expect. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Charlotte | 12/9/2013

    " Nice western mystery series in the vein of C.J. Box and Craig Johnson "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Erin | 10/26/2013

    " I just couldn't get into this one. I didn't even finish it because it was so boring. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Cherie | 3/20/2013

    " 1st book I have read of Pearson. Would try more. enjoyed the strong characters. enjoyed the long standing relationship of the Attorney general and the young cop who saved her. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Wendy | 10/17/2012

    " Great book! Couldn't put it down. I hadn't read any of Pearson's books for sometime, but have always loved what I've read. This one was a little different, but throughly enjoyable. I'm going to go borrow the next book in the series from my Mother later today. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Stephen | 4/20/2012

    " entertaining, but very quick read "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Joe | 1/9/2012

    " Excellent book! It was cool at the end of the book how the author explained the characters. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Daniel Bustos | 9/10/2011

    " Good story. Interesting and relatively realistic protagonist. Clean "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mike Vaughnwilliams | 7/18/2011

    " A good read. Small town sheriff overcomes a sneaky intrigue and government lackeys to save the presidential candidate. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Cathy | 5/18/2010

    " Pearson doesn't seem to know these characters yet. I couldn't ever get into the story "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Beth | 1/9/2010

    " Good mystery. Light reading, but very enjoyable. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Donnap | 12/6/2009

    " I really got into this book, it was one that a friend recommended to me and i have recommended it to others. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mckenna | 5/4/2009

    " Good detective book. I read it while on the stair master! It kept me distracted and interested. It was about an assassination attempt on a woman who was going to announce that she was running for president. It kept me interested from the 1st chapter. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kaye | 2/23/2009

    " First in the Walter Fleming, sheriff in Sun Valley Idaho, series. Good plot kept me turning the pages almost non-stop. Interesting main character who seems to have relationship problems; soon to be ex-wife and bad feelings about his father. Excellent sense of place. Intriquing mystery plot. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Ridley Pearson

Ridley Pearson is the New York Times bestselling author of more than two dozen novels, including The Red Room, Choke Point, and The Risk Agent, as well as the Walt Fleming and Lou Boldt crime series, and many books for young readers. He lives with his family, dividing his time between St. Louis, Missouri, and Hailey, Idaho.

About the Narrator

Christopher Lane is an award-winning actor, director, and narrator. He is a three-time winner of the prestigious Audie Award for Best Narration and recipient of ten AudioFile Earphones Awards.