Extended Audio Sample

Download Juliet's Nurse: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Juliets Nurse: A Novel, by Lois Leveen Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Lois Leveen Narrator: Nicola Barbe Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $23.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

An enthralling new telling of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet—told from the perspective of Juliet’s nurse

In Verona, a city ravaged by plague and political rivalries, a mother mourning the death of her day-old infant enters the household of the powerful Cappelletti family to become the wet nurse to their newborn baby. As she serves her beloved Juliet over the next fourteen years, the nurse learns the Cappellettis’ darkest secrets. Those secrets—and the nurse’s deep personal grief—erupt across five momentous days of love and loss that destroy a daughter and a family.

By turns sensual, tragic, and comic, Juliet’s Nurse gives voice to one of literature’s most memorable and distinctive characters—a woman who was both insider and outsider among Verona’s wealthy ruling class. Exploring the romance and intrigue of interwoven loyalties, rivalries, jealousies, and losses only hinted at in Shakespeare’s play, this is a never before heard tale of the deepest love in Verona—the love between a grieving woman and the precious child of her heart.

In the tradition of Sarah Dunant, Philippa Gregory, and Geraldine Brooks, Juliet’s Nurse is a rich prequel that reimagines the world’s most cherished tale of love, loss, suffering, and survival.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Lois Leveen’s richly detailed, fascinating novel offers a wholly original and intriguing take on one of Shakespeare’s most beloved plays through the imagined life of Juliet’s faithful nurse, whose secret loves and tragedies rival the young lovers’ own.”

    Jennifer Chiaverini, New York Times bestselling author of Lincoln’s Rival

  • “One of the most interesting and fresh novels of 2014… creative and innovative. William Shakespeare would be proud!”


  • “Lyrically affecting…this is a wonderfully fun story with unforgettable characters that breathes new life into one of literature’s masterpieces.”

    Historical Novel Review

  • “Intricate…impressive.”

    Library Journal

  • “Wet nurse Angelica takes center stage in Leveen’s second novel, which begins fourteen years before the fateful five days spanned by the drama…Leveen’s enthusiastic historical novel pushes the classic teenage romance aside to give greater weight to a mother’s love and losses.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “In Shakespeare’s play, all we know of the world’s most famous star-crossed lovers happens over a period of five days. Lois Leveen’s imaginative retelling covers all the years before—from the nurse’s point of view. Nicola Barber delights with her full-bodied, earthy performance of Angelica and her lusty husband, Pietro. When Angelica’s baby daughter dies in childbirth, Friar Lorenzo helps her become live-in wet nurse to the Cappaletta’s newborn girl. Angelica becomes irrationally devoted to Juliet, convinced that she’s truly her baby, switched at birth. Barber portrays aged Lord Cappaletta’s disappointment at not having a son and is convincing as Lady Cappaletta is driven to the edge of madness. She handles Elizabethan morés, beekeeping secrets, and hot-blooded teens engaged in an ancient feud with quicksilver vocal shifts. Wonderful listening. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations