Extended Audio Sample

Download Island of Bones Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Island of Bones Audiobook, by Imogen Robertson Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (316 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Imogen Robertson Narrator: Jenny Sterlin Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Crowther and Westerman Series Release Date: October 2012 ISBN: 9781470323912
Regular Price: $29.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

England, 1783. In Island of Bones, Crowther’s haunting past is at last revealed. For years he has pursued his forensic studies—and the occasional murder investigation—far from his family estate. But an ancient tomb there will reveal a wealth of secrets. When laborers discover an extra body inside, the lure of the mystery brings Crowther home at last.

Fans of both historical fiction à la Anne Perry and the intricate forensics of Tess Gerritsen will be delighted by Robertson’s latest.

Download and start listening now!

BK_RECO_006049

Quotes & Awards

  • “First-rate prose and the deepening relationship between the two leads bode well for the longevity of this series.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Set aside quality time to fully enjoy this richly layered, engaging historical series; a great suggestion for fans of Anne Perry, Charles Finch, and C.S. Harris.”

    Library Journal

  • “An altogether satisfying historical mystery.”

    Booklist

  • “[An] audacious mix of cultural gloss and uncomplicated, straight-ahead storytelling. The multi-layered nuance of Peter Ackroyd and the buttonholing narrative grasp of Stephen King are stirred into the mix.”

    Independent (London)

  • “In the overcrowded field of historical fiction, Robertson has the smarts comfortably to outpace most of her rivals.”

    Independent (London)

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Evangelyn | 2/16/2014

    " Very dense. Really like the two main characters and how the author includes interesting side stories. I read 1, 2, & 4 as ebooks but had to get this one sent from England. It was worth it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Amy | 2/12/2014

    " A fun murder mystery, with an engaging detective duo that together approximate Holmes. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Patricia | 2/11/2014

    " Good twists. I guessed some of it, but it was still good. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mary | 2/4/2014

    " Very interesting--the CSI gang is in the 1700's "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lheff | 2/1/2014

    " Intelligent, rich in period detail and satisfying layers of deceit and clarity. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Debbie | 1/29/2014

    " I enjoyed the beginning more than the end. I think it dragged on a bit too much for me and I had a hard time keeping track of what was going on and who the characters are. Maybe it was too complicated for my retired brain... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Suzan | 12/29/2013

    " Such wonderfully developed characters! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bill Fornes | 12/27/2013

    " Happy to recommend if you like period mysteries. You need to read Instruments of Darkness and Anatomy of Murder before this. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jerelyn | 10/3/2013

    " Just brilliant, review to follow. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Connie | 2/26/2013

    " This, the third in the series is by far the best!! Loved the returning characters and the new ones introduced in this book set in the lake district. I was able to picture the scenes having been there years ago. Hopefully, the author will have a new one for all of us soon. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Susanne | 1/6/2013

    " This is what happens when you pick up a book in the library! I really liked it but wish I would have know it was #3 in a series! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Melanie Goldmund | 12/12/2012

    " Fascinating historical mystery, set in Keswick, with lots of local flavour. I love this series! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Margaret Wichorek | 12/6/2012

    " This is the third in a series of excelent mysteriews set in 18th century England. I've rea all three now and am looking forward t oa fourth. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kate Sometomato | 11/12/2012

    " Very good historical (somewhat romantic) mystery. Set in 1745, the plot also touches on events of 1723 and a plot to return the Pretender to the throne. Jacobites and such galore. This is the second of the series that I have read and I am enjoying the main characters very much. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kelly | 9/18/2012

    " These books are so good! I literally gasped when I found out who the villain was. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Imogen Robertson

Imogen Robertson studied Russian and German at Cambridge University and has worked as a television, film, and radio director. In 2007 she won the Telegraph’s First Thousand Words of a Novel competition with what would become Instruments of Darkness, her first novel. She currently lives in London.

About the Narrator

Jenny Sterlin, winner of multiple Earphones Awards, has more than seventy audio titles to her credit, including Laurie R. King’s popular Sherlock Holmes / Mary Russell series. Before beginning her narration career, she helped found England’s experimental Living Theatre.