In the Shadow of the Moon: America, Russia, and the Hidden History of the Space Race Audiobook, by Amy Cherrix Play Audiobook Sample

In the Shadow of the Moon: America, Russia, and the Hidden History of the Space Race Audiobook

In the Shadow of the Moon: America, Russia, and the Hidden History of the Space Race Audiobook, by Amy Cherrix Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $20.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Josh Horowitz Publisher: Balzer + Bray Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 4.50 hours at 1.5x Speed 3.38 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: February 2021 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780063058224

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:

53

Longest Chapter Length:

25:57 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

07 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

07:35 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:

1

Publisher Description

An exhilarating dive into the secret history of humankind’s race to the moon, from acclaimed author Amy Cherrix. This fascinating and immersive read is perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin’s Bomb and M. T. Anderson’s Symphony for the City of the Dead.

You’ve heard of the space race, but do you know the whole story?

The most ambitious race humankind has ever undertaken was masterminded in the shadows by two engineers on opposite sides of the Cold War—Wernher von Braun, a former Nazi officer living in the US, and Sergei Korolev, a Russian rocket designer once jailed for crimes against his country—and your textbooks probably never told you.

Von Braun became an American hero, recognized the world over, while Korolev toiled in obscurity. These two brilliant rocketeers never met, but together they shaped the science of spaceflight and redefined modern warfare. From Stalin’s brutal Gulag prisons and Hitler’s concentration camps to Cape Canaveral and beyond, their simultaneous quests pushed science—and human ingenuity—to the breaking point.

From Amy Cherrix comes the extraordinary hidden story of the space race and the bitter rivalry that launched humankind to the moon.

Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.

Download and start listening now!

“A well-researched, detailed account of two leading engineers in the space race that raises questions about the human costs of war and propaganda… Engrossing and painfully relevant.”

— Kirkus Reviews 

Quotes

  • “An engaging, fast-paced narrative that will delight readers of history and space technology. A worthy addition to all libraries serving teens.”

    — School Library Journal
  • “YA history readers frustrated by an information gap between the race for the bomb and the race to the moon will find this the essential—and thrilling—infill they’ve missed.”

    — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
  • “An explosive exposé on the scandals and lies behind the race to the moon! I learned so much I didn’t know.”

    — Alan Gratz, author of Grenade

In the Shadow of the Moon Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Amy Cherrix

Amy Cherrix is the author of several books, including the middle grade nonfiction books Backyard Bears: Conservation, Habitat Changes, and the Rise of Urban Wildlife and of Eye of the Storm: NASA, Drones, and the Race to Crack the Hurricane Code, which was a finalist for the Subaru Prize for Excellence in middle grade science books. She is the children’s book buyer at Malaprop’s Bookstore in Asheville, North Carolina. You can find her online at www.amycherrix.com.