Extended Audio Sample

Download If You See Me, Don't Say Hi: Stories Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample If You See Me, Dont Say Hi: Stories Audiobook, by Neel Patel
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Neel Patel Narrator: to be announced Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: July 10, 2018 ISBN: 9781427298645
Coming Soon! The audiobook will be available for pre-order on June 19, 2018.Check back on that date to pre-order this title for the Jul 10, 2018 release!
Available for pre-order on: June 19, 2018

A bravura debut story collection in the vein of Aziz Ansari and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, about love, family, success, and the experience of being brown in America today.

In these ten sharp, surprising stories, Neel Patel introduces a cast of characters who subvert our expectations. We meet two brothers caught in an elaborate web of envy and loathing; childhood best friends who betray each other at a Christmas party; a mixed-race couple dealing with the insecurities of young love; a young gay man who becomes involved with an older man whose secret he could never guess; and, in a brilliant trio of stories, three women who almost gleefully throw off the pleasant agreeability society asks of them.

If You See Me, Don’t Say Hi examines the collisions of old world and new world, small town and big city, traditional beliefs (like arranged marriage) and modern rituals (like facebook stalking). Ranging across the country and interrogating our deeply held stereotypes about the Indian American experience, these stories—big-hearted, provocative, twisting, and wryly funny—introduce a bold new literary voice, one that feels more timely than ever.

Download and start listening now!

cdec
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Narrator

Lindy West is a Seattle-based writer, editor, and performer whose work focuses on pop culture, social justice, humor, and body image. She’s currently a culture writer for GQ magazine and GQ.com and a weekly columnist at the Guardian, as well as the founder and editor of I Believe You | It’s Not Your Fault, an advice blog for teens. In January of 2015 she wrote and recorded a story for This American Life about confronting an internet troll who impersonated her dead father.