Extended Audio Sample

Download How to Write a Novel: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample How to Write a Novel: A Novel, by Melanie Sumner Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Melanie Sumner Narrator: Katie Schorr Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Aristotle “Aris” Thibodeau is twelve-and-a-half years old and destined for greatness. Ever since her father’s death, however, she’s been stuck in the small town of Kanuga, Georgia, where she has to manage her mother Diane’s floundering love life and dubious commitment to her job as an English professor, not to mention coparenting a little brother who hogs all the therapy money.

Luckily, Aris has a plan. Following the advice laid out in Write a Novel in Thirty Days!, she sets out to pen a bestseller using her charmingly dysfunctional family as material. If the mom character, Diane, would ditch online dating and accept that the perfect man is clearly the handyman/nanny character, Penn MacGuffin, Aris would have the essential romance for her plot (and a father in her real life). But when a random accident uncovers a dark part of Thibodeau family history, Aris is forced to confront the fact that sometimes in life—as in great literature—things might not work out exactly as planned.

How to Write a Novel is a brilliant satire of the modern family, at once endearing, hilarious, and bittersweet.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Sumner brings a knowing, tongue-in-cheek sparkle to discussions of writing workshop chestnuts…never losing sight of the humanity of her characters and the unpredictable nature of reality.”

    Atlanta Journal-Constitution

  • “In the vein of Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project, Sumner’s quirky story about an unconventional family is charming and precocious, like Aris herself.”

    Library Journal

  • “How a kid can help her broke, widowed, overwhelmed mom: write a novel!…Sweet, clever, and fun.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “A beautiful and accomplished novel by an extraordinarily gifted talent.”

    Jill McCorkle, author of Life after Life

  • “Melanie Sumner is an abundantly talented writer who will delight any serious reader who still loves a compelling story.”

    Robert Olen Butler, Pulitzer Prize–winning author, praise for the author

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Melanie Sumner is the award-winning author of The Ghost of Milagro Creek, The School of Beauty and Charm, and Polite Society. Her short fiction has appeared in the New Yorker, Harper’s, the New York Times, Seventeen, and many other magazines and anthologies. She is the recipient of a NEA Fellowship in fiction, a PEN America grant, a Whiting Award, and was named one of Granta’s Best Young American Novelists in 1995. She is currently an assistant professor of English at Kennesaw State University, Georgia.