Extended Audio Sample

Download How to Be a Good Wife Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample How to Be a Good Wife, by Emma J. Chapman Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Emma J. Chapman Narrator: Susan Lyons Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

In the tradition of Emma Donoghue’s Room and S. J. Watson’s Before I Go to Sleep, How to Be a Good Wife by Emma Chapman is a haunting literary debut about a woman who begins having visions that make her question everything she knows

Marta and Hector have been married for a long time—through the good and bad; through raising a son and sending him off to life after university. They’ve been married so long, in fact, that Marta finds it difficult to remember her life before Hector. He has always taken care of her, and she has always done everything she can to be a good wife—as advised by a dog-eared manual given to her by Hector’s aloof mother on their wedding day.

But now, something is changing. Small things seem off. A flash of movement in the corner of her eye, elapsed moments that she can’t recall. Visions of a blonde girl in the darkness that only Marta can see. Perhaps she is starting to remember—or perhaps her mind is playing tricks on her. As Marta’s visions persist and her reality grows more disjointed, it’s unclear if the danger lies in the world around her, or in Marta herself. The girl is growing more real every day, and she wants something.

Download and start listening now!

200857

Quotes & Awards

  • “On the surface the book is a highly competent chiller, but beneath, like a silent, bolted…room, there’s a much bigger story about the nature of feminine experience. An accomplished debut.”

    Hilary Mantel, New York Times bestselling author of Wolf Hall

  • How To Be a Good Wife is at once claustrophobic, startling, and hauntingly beautiful. It’s that amazing, awful kind of book that will stay with you long after you wish it would let you go.”

    Liza Klaussmann, New York Times bestselling author of Tigers in Red Weather

  • “A compelling, twisty tale of deception and distrust. Beautifully written and very clever.”

    Elizabeth Haynes, New York Times bestselling author of Into the Darkest Corner

  • “Chilling…Chapman excels at creating tension and suspense.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “[A] clever chiller.”

    Booklist

  • “Extraordinary.”

    New York Times Book Review

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Emma Chapman is the author of How to Be a Good Wife. She studied English literature at Edinburgh University, followed by a masters in creative writing at Royal Holloway, University of London. After university, she traveled in Scandinavia. She spent four years living in Perth, Australia, and currently lives in Jakarta, Indonesia.