Extended Audio Sample

Download Himmler’s War Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Himmler’s War Audiobook, by Robert Conroy Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (123 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Robert Conroy Narrator: L. J. Ganser Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: July 2012 ISBN: 9781464036088
Regular Price: $29.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Bestselling author Robert Conroy has earned critical acclaim and favorable comparisons to fellow speculative history maven Harry Turtledove.

Only days after the Allies’ landing at Normandy, Adolph Hitler is removed from his position atop the Third Reich, and Heinrich Himmler, brutal head of the SS, assumes control. On the Allied side, there is confusion. Should attempts be made to negotiate with the new government, or should unconditional surrender still be the only option?

With the specter of a German superweapon moving closer to completion and the German generals finally allowed to fight the kind of war at which they are masters, the German war machine is primed for a final assault.

The Allies are pushed toward a course of accommodation—or even defeat. Will the soldiers of the Grand Alliance find the courage and conviction to fight on in the face of such daunting odds? And can the Allied leaders put into place a new plan in time to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat by the German war machine?

A new and terrible battle for the free world is on.

Download and start listening now!

abi5

Quotes & Awards

  • “Historical accuracy in the midst of creative speculation makes this piece of alternate history believable. It should appeal to fans of Harry Turtledove and Peter G. Tsouras.” 

    Library Journal

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jay Clement | 11/9/2013

    " Pretty entertaining Historical alternate fiction book. This genre has just popped up for me, and it's fun to see how the authors reimagine time-worn events. Interesting blend of actual history and then tweaks and such to build a tale. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Bill | 9/15/2013

    " Well done, better than Turtledove's current WW2 series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 John | 9/10/2013

    " Excellent alternate history of what would happen if Hitler was killed and Himmler took over. Good Stuff. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ned Leffingwell | 6/30/2013

    " Robert Conroy's editor must have told him to write more sex scenes in his book. This book was not as good as some of his other ones because of this. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ron | 4/28/2013

    " Conroy provides an interesting AH on the premise that Hitler was killed shortly after D-Day and Himmler took over resulting in a more robust defense. Conroy uses a few characters on each side of the conflict to portray the action. In the end the tale is interesting and enjoyable. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Zjsdad | 10/16/2012

    " Albeit fiction, it was too scathing "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jeff Stevens | 9/23/2012

    " My first Conroy novel, and very enjoyable. He makes an intruiging and generally well thought-out case for how Germany could have made the end of WWII much worse than it already was. A fun read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Michael | 9/16/2012

    " Not Conroy's best, but worth your time if you like alternate history. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jim | 7/15/2012

    " This is alternate history and Conroy shows he is one of the masters. This one is based on the what-if of Hitler being killed in the summer of 1944 and about what would happen as a result. Mainly, Himmler seizes power and works out a better strategy with his generals. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jeff Miller | 5/16/2012

    " I give it a meh. Well researched and rendered but fairly predictable. I guess there is only so much you can do with WW2 "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Robert Conroy is the author a run of hugely popular alternate history novels, including Himmler’s War and Rising Sun for Baen Books. His 1942, which is set within a Japanese conquest of Hawaii, won the prestigious Sidewise Award for alternate histories. Conroy has written for Military History magazine and has traveled extensively in Europe where he’s taken a special interest in battlefields, historical collections and castles. After a first career in business, Conroy has turned his lifelong passion for writing and military history into an immensely satisfying new occupation. He is married, lives in southeastern Michigan, and, when not writing, teaches business and economic history at a local college.

About the Narrator

L. J. Ganser is the winner of ten AudioFile Earphones Awards and the 2005 Audie Award for Best Nonfiction Narration for his work in The Island at the Center of the World. He has appeared onstage in New York and in regional productions, has several episodes of Law & Order in his list of credits, and has recorded over two hundred audiobooks. Before becoming an actor, he was a ship’s cook in Maine, a roofer, a painter, and a swim team coach.