Here We Are Now Audiobook, by Jasmine Warga Play Audiobook Sample

Download Here We Are Now Audiobook

Here We Are Now Audiobook, by Jasmine Warga Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $18.99 Add to Cart
Author: Jasmine Warga Narrator: Soneela Nankani Publisher: HarperCollins Audio Length: Release Date: November 2017 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780062689214

Publisher Description

A book about love, loss, and the power of music, perfect for fans of Nick Hornby and Fangirl. 

Taliah Sahar Abdallat lives and breathes music. Songs have always helped Tal ease the pain of never having known her father. Her mother, born in Jordan and very secretive about her past, won’t say a word about who her dad really was. But when Tal finds a shoebox full of old letters from Julian Oliver—yes, the indie rock star Julian Oliver—she begins to piece the story together.

She writes to Julian, but after three years of radio silence, she’s given up hope. Then one day, completely out of the blue, Julian shows up at her doorstep, and Tal doesn’t know whether to be furious or to throw herself into his arms. Before she can decide, he asks her to go on a trip with him to meet her long-estranged family and to say good-bye to his father, her grandfather, who is dying.

Getting to know your father after sixteen years of estrangement doesn’t happen in one car ride. But as Tal spends more time with Julian and his family, she begins to untangle her parents’ secret past, and discovers a part of herself she never recognized before.

By the acclaimed author of My Heart and Other Black Holes, this is an intergenerational story of family and legacy and the way love informs both of those things. It’s about secrets and the debt of silence. It’s about the power of songs. And most of all, it’s about learning how to say hello. And good-bye.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Intriguing, romantic, and honest, the book celebrates the new beginnings that can emerge from tragic endings.”

    - Publishers Weekly
  • “A music-packed look at how we grow, change, and define or redefine relationships. This thoughtful look at finding one’s place, sometimes in the most surprising and unexpected ways, will have wide appeal.”

    - School Library Journal
  • “An intense family drama that will pull readers in with poignancy, romance, and grief over lost relationships, all set to the beat of scattered song lyrics woven nicely through the narrative.”

    - Booklist
  • “A well-executed family drama of the power of romantic and parental love, secrets, regrets, and new beginnings.”

    - Kirkus Reviews
  • “Alive with intensity, gut-wrenching honesty, moments of humor, and—of course—heart. This is an extraordinary debut by a striking new voice in YA fiction that left me in awe and moved beyond measure. Not to be missed.”

    - Nova Ren Suma, New York Times bestselling author, on My Heart and Other Black Holes

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Jasmine Warga grew up outside of Cincinnati, Ohio. Before becoming a full-time writer, she briefly worked as a science teacher.

About the Narrator

Soneela Nankani, an Earphones Award–winning narrator, is a classically trained actress, voice-over artist, and singer who has had roles in film and on television. She has worked with the award-winning Sojourn Theatre, Classical Theatre of Harlem, the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, and the Kansas City Repertory Theatre.