Extended Audio Sample

Download Herbert's Wormhole Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Herberts Wormhole Audiobook, by Peter Nelson Click for printable size audiobook cover
2.74 out of 52.74 out of 52.74 out of 52.74 out of 52.74 out of 5 2.74 (31 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Peter Nelson Narrator: Jonathan Davis Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2009 ISBN: 9780061776281
Regular Price: $13.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Herbert Slewg and his hapless, video game–addicted neighbor Alex Filby have stumbled upon what Einstein could only theorize about: a wormhole through the space/time continuum. They travel 100 years into the future of their no-longer-boring town and are mistaken for alien slayers . . . in a world run by a benevolent alien race with cheerful Australian accents and uncomfortably fake facial hair. Herbert, Alex, and their mutual crush, Sammi Clementine, century-hop across time in order to outwit a disgruntled “G’Dalien. By foiling his evil plot, they save the planet and become 22nd-century hometown heroes in this smart-alecky (but friendly), inventive, wry, and very visual creation.
  Download and start listening now!

BK_HARP_001870

Quotes & Awards

  • “Give this to kids who have moved beyond Captain Underpants but want something just as silly and funny.”

    School Library Journal

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Debbie Mcneil | 2/15/2014

    " Just not sure what to make of this one. It's too long and vocabualry-filled to be a low level reader; too inane to be valid sci-fi literature. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Carrie | 2/10/2014

    " Alittle slow and I didn't really like any of the characters (except Sammi). Hope there isn't a sequel. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Amanda | 1/26/2014

    " 3.5....not the best, but certainly not the worst I've read lately "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kristi | 1/14/2014

    " This was a cute book. I can definitely see the boy appeal. I thought the illustrations were a great plus, although it's a tad long to be considered a quick read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Hayden | 1/1/2014

    " Good read-alike for Diary of a Wimpy Kid; funny, with a lot of graphic elements and some silly sci-fi action. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Rendier | 12/29/2013

    " Nice read for the kids.... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mr. Steve | 12/24/2013

    " Totally kid-friendly. Another easy book to book talk; especially for reluctant readers. I mean, we have video games and aliens in a graphic novel format! What more could you want? SLJ recommends this book for fans of the silliness of Captain Underpants. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 emily | 12/12/2013

    " I really didn't like the story or the characters here -- except for the sister, they were all mean & undeveloped. Will recommend to Wimpy kid fans who have read EVERYTHING else similar and for whom I have no choice. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jessica | 11/10/2013

    " Another Nutmeg nominee. It had some humor but it wasn't as funny as it thought it was. No point no moral. Was very hard to get into. Wanna be Wimpy Kid but falls way short. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tamara the Librarian | 10/10/2013

    " Silly, quick read about 2 boys who go 100 years in the future where aliens and humans co-exist. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Brendon Haithcock | 10/8/2013

    " The book was okay. It was very predictable. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Dwilly | 10/8/2013

    " Terrible book I read it years ago. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Melissa | 8/20/2013

    " Even though I personally did not find this book all that enjoyable I did think the science fiction aspect and particularly the comic style format might make it a good read a like for "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" fans. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Betsy | 3/13/2013

    " One Sentence Review: Darn it, I really did mean to review this one, since it's almost impossible to find good boy-friendly partially cartoony fiction containing alien invaders who wear bad toupees and fake moustaches and talk like Australians. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Renee | 1/1/2013

    " 3.5 A bit more text, but might interest Diary of a Wimpy Kid fans with its humor and illustrations. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Hailey | 11/29/2012

    " I liked this book because I liked all the future stuff. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Michael Jones | 11/11/2012

    " This is a cute, if juvenile, book for tweens. The story is simplistic, the artwork is juvenile... but my 11-year-old son LOVED it. Ate it up in one day. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Victor J.L. | 7/15/2012

    " ok nerdy but very undderstandable "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Debby Allen | 5/14/2012

    " A slightly slow start the gets going and keeps on. Maybe a good read-to book - lots of pictures, fun, implausible story. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Diane | 1/2/2012

    " This is pretty standard cartoon-aided kid fiction. We enjoyed the story and it made us laugh throughout. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Rose | 5/5/2011

    " I'm not really the intended demographic for this. I thought it got more fun as it went, but I think I wanted to feel more grounded in the world/characters. However, it was a funny one! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Debbie | 2/8/2011

    " Just not sure what to make of this one. It's too long and vocabualry-filled to be a low level reader; too inane to be valid sci-fi literature. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Debby | 12/2/2010

    " A slightly slow start the gets going and keeps on. Maybe a good read-to book - lots of pictures, fun, implausible story. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mr. Steve | 11/9/2010

    " Totally kid-friendly. Another easy book to book talk; especially for reluctant readers. I mean, we have video games and aliens in a graphic novel format! What more could you want? SLJ recommends this book for fans of the silliness of Captain Underpants. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Melissa | 8/29/2010

    "
    Even though I personally did not find this book all that enjoyable I did think the science fiction aspect and particularly the comic style format might make it a good read a like for "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" fans. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Amy | 3/31/2010

    " Not exactly my type of book, but I'll recommend it to boys looking for something like Diary of A Wimpy Kid. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Hajnal | 12/31/2009

    " Good for middle grades.

    Recommended for kids who like Wimpy Kid and Captain Underpants. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Hayden | 8/4/2009

    " Good read-alike for Diary of a Wimpy Kid; funny, with a lot of graphic elements and some silly sci-fi action. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Elizabeth | 5/24/2009

    " One Sentence Review: Darn it, I really did mean to review this one, since it's almost impossible to find good boy-friendly partially cartoony fiction containing alien invaders who wear bad toupees and fake moustaches and talk like Australians. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Rose | 5/4/2009

    " I'm not really the intended demographic for this. I thought it got more fun as it went, but I think I wanted to feel more grounded in the world/characters. However, it was a funny one! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mary | 3/3/2009

    " Advanced Readers Copy
    A quick read this book will appeal to kids who are into video games. It has an upbeat, positive plot and believable characters. Illustrations are necessary for the story. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Peter Nelson

Peter Nelson is a screenwriter who lives in Los Angeles, California, with his wife, Diane, and their two sons, Charlie and Christopher. Herbert's Wormhole was Peter's First children's book. He wrote it without ever having met an actual alien or traveling through time, which made it a bit more challenging, but just as fun.

About the Narrator

Jonathan Davis has received widespread critical acclaim for his narration in a variety of genres. He has won the prestigious Audie Award for Best Narration in 2009, 2011, and 2012, as well as being a finalist for an Audie in 2007, 2013, and three times in 2014. He has also garnered accolades from Publishers Weekly, USA Today, and AudioFile magazine and has earned more than a dozen AudioFile Earphones Awards.