Extended Audio Sample

Download Hector and the Search for Lost Time: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Hector and the Search for Lost Time: A Novel Audiobook, by François Lelord Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (274 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: François Lelord Narrator: James Langton Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: July 2012 ISBN: 9781101564455
Regular Price: $17.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The delightful third book in the multimillion-copy internationally bestselling series

First he tackled happiness. Then he took on love. And now Hector, our endearing young French psychiatrist, confronts the persistent march of time.

His patients lament that there is not enough time in the day. Or they feel that life is passing them by. And in one case, a young boy turns the problem on its head: he’s impatient to grow up! Hector himself is increasingly aware of time: he doesn’t feel quite so young anymore, and the clock is ticking on his relationship with his beloved Clara.

So as time flies, so does Hector in his latest adventure, traveling around the world and charming us with his inimitable blend of open-minded inquiry and subtle wit as he journeys to understand the past, the future, and how best to enjoy the present.

Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_001920

Quotes & Awards

  • Acclaim for Hector and the Search for Happiness:
  • Utterly charming . . . Fans of Eat, Pray, Love and The Elegance of the Hedgehog won’t want to miss this gem of a book. BookPage
  • “Utterly charming…Fans of Eat, Pray, Love and The Elegance of the Hedgehog won’t want to miss this gem of a book.”

    Bookpage

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Veronica | 10/30/2013

    " Have I mentioned that I love Hector and his adventures? "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Spellcheck | 10/13/2013

    " Enjoyable. Essays on aging and the passage of time couched in small vignettes of Hector, the psychiatrists, life. Philosophy light. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ibyang | 8/26/2013

    " The endearing French psychiatrist from Hector and the Search for Happiness confronts the inevitable progression of time while helping his patients resolve time-related issues and growing aware of his evolving adulthood, observations he addresses while traveling the world. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Heather | 6/21/2013

    " This is one of my favorite series... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Narven dina | 1/17/2013

    " this book has made me rethink over again about time. i might need read his two previous books; journey in search of happiness and love. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Melissa | 9/3/2012

    " A quaint little book and a short read. I picked it up because I thought it could possibly be about time travel (spoiler: it is not about time travel). An interesting look at how we perceive time, how others perceive time and how we deal with the inevitability that time is creeping away always. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kenny | 8/6/2012

    " It was interesting at some points, but overall, it didn't have such an impact on me as his first book. Perhaps I've got 4 more dogs left in me, that's why I don't normally have an issue with time. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Wanrong | 7/19/2012

    " Light-hearted, yet thought-provoking read. I enjoy Hector, the slightly quirky writing (can almost imagine reading it in French, except my language ability isn't strong enough), and the philosophical touches. Read it in one sitting. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

François Lelord studied medicine and psychology. After getting his doctoral degree in 1985, he was a post-doctorate researcher at UCLA. He then worked as an attending physician in Paris for two years. Since 2004, he has been working as a psychiatrist in Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City.

About the Narrator

James Langton trained as an actor at the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama. An AudioFile Earphones Award winner, he has performed many voice-overs and narrated numerous audiobooks, including the international bestsellers The Brotherhood of the Holy Shroud by Julia Navarro, The Virtues of War by Steven Pressfield, and The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan. He is also a professional musician who led the internationally renowned Pasadena Roof Orchestra from 1996 to 2002. He was born in York, England, and is now based in New York City.