Extended Audio Sample

Download Heat Wave: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Heat Wave: A Novel Audiobook, by Nancy Thayer Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (2,704 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Nancy Thayer Narrator: Kathe Mazur Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2011 ISBN: 9780307939531
Regular Price: $22.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Unerringly perceptive, superbly written, every page packed with the warmth and compassionate wisdom that have become Nancy Thayer’s trademark,Heat Wave tells the moving story of a woman who, after her seemingly perfect life unravels, must find the strength to live and love again.

Making the startling discovery that her family finances are in dire straits is only the latest shock endured by Carley Winsted after her husband’s sudden death from a heart attack. Resisting her in-laws’ well-meaning overtures to take in Carley and her two daughters, the young widow instead devises a plan to keep her family in their beloved home, a grand historic house on the island of Nantucket.

The solution is right at Carley’s front door: transforming her expensive, expansive house into a bed-and-breakfast. Not everyone, however, thinks this plan prudent or quite respectable—especially not Carley’s mother-in-law. Further complicating a myriad of challenges, a friend forces Carley to keep a secret that, if revealed, will undo families and friendships. 

When her late husband’s former law partner keeps showing up at the most unexpected times, Carley must cope with an array of mixed feelings. And then, during a late-summer heat wave, the lives of Carley and her friends and family will be forever changed in entirely unexpected ways. 

Lyrical, emotional, dramatic, and ultimately wonderfully uplifting, Nancy Thayer’s latest novel is compelling from its first page to its last.

Download and start listening now!

BK_RAND_002685

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joanie | 2/20/2014

    " Perfect summer beach read. After her husband dies a woman turns her Nantucket home into a B&B. There were a couple things that bugged me and one major issue that was never really wrapped up but I'm willing to overlook it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kim | 2/19/2014

    " It was okay. A bit over mellow dramatic, but I enjoyed the characters. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jeanne | 2/13/2014

    " I usually like Nancy Thayer's books, and this is no exception. This is the story of newly widowed Carley Winsted. At 32, she rebuilds her life with her two daughters on the island of Nantucket. A sad, but feel-good story. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cathy Mahan | 2/8/2014

    " Great book. Kept me interested the whole time. I didn't want it to end! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Carissa | 2/3/2014

    " Just finished listening to this audio book. I enjoyed this version more than when I read it. Kathe Mazure is an awesome reader. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Justin | 1/31/2014

    " I wont lie this story was a little hard to read at times for all the emotions. Parts were very sad and sometimes heart wrenching but all in all, with tissues handy definitely worth reading. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Denise | 1/27/2014

    " Always a good story when Nancy Thayer writes a book. Love the characters. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Darcy | 1/20/2014

    " The writing was crisp, but the storyline fell a little flat. I could predict how the book would end very early on, although there was a part of the plot that was a little far-fetched. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jennifer Lewis | 12/21/2013

    " Loved this book! the perfect summer vacation book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brenda Williams | 12/15/2013

    " This book was very good and if you like this one try Elin Hilderbrand's books also. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Linda | 12/7/2013

    " Excellent book. Read it in one day (and night). "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cindy | 11/8/2013

    " Not high art, just an interesting story to entertain you on a summer's day... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tracy | 11/4/2013

    " Sucked in - read in 2 days. Great beginning for my summer reads. Love Nantucket novels. Someday I will visit!! Hopefully I won't have read all the novels there are about Nantucket before that day. I laughed, I cried & loved the book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Heidi Boyd | 10/15/2013

    " Perfect summer read set in Nantucket, the story of a young mother finding her way after her husband's sudden death. A couple of unexpected twists near the end kept the pages turning. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Angela Gallizzi | 10/12/2013

    " Extremely boring. Save yourself the trouble and not read it. Unless you are looking for a book that you don't need to use your brain. The writing itself is also boring. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jeananna | 6/16/2013

    " Was not expected the twist at the end!! Great book with a great story and great characters that I felt like were friends st the end! I will miss reading this one! "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Joanne Bretton | 3/26/2013

    " Couldn't get past the first chapter. Not sue what I didn't like, maybe the style of writing. Not really sure "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Valerie | 3/17/2013

    " A fun, easy read. I will definitely look to Nancy Thayer the next time I need a good, quick read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kelly | 2/22/2013

    " This novel started out slow.. but it did get good once i hot about 60% and I could not put it down. I thought it was going to be more summery. though my favorite parts were in winter!. I loved how she brought in characters from moonshell beach! It was like reuniting with old friends. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tina | 9/13/2012

    " I especially liked the characters in this story; Carley and Wyatt were able to keep the reader entertained. I would recommend to anyone who enjoys a good solid romance story. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Catherine Sumner | 7/22/2012

    " Don't really even know why I bothered finishing this one. It was poorly written, repetitive, and not one surprising thing happened during the whole book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Molli927 | 4/11/2012

    " slow to start, okay in the middle, weird tie-up-all-the-loose-ends- ending. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Melissa | 4/4/2012

    " There was nothing surprising about the characters or plot. But it was still a an entertaining book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Colleen | 12/22/2011

    " When Gus dies of a heart attack from a congenital heart defect, Carley, a mother of two young girls, must find her own path to care for her home and family. Gus's parents want to take in the girls, but Carley is determined to make it on her own. Predictable, but a good summer read. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Catherine | 11/1/2011

    " I couldn't finish this book. Way too much telling, not enough showing. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Kathy | 9/20/2011

    " Pretty predictable chick lit. Writing was really simplistic. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Susan | 8/23/2011

    " I loved this. It was a really quick, easy read that I enjoyed. There were some loose ends left untied, but I liked it nonetheless. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Carolyn | 7/16/2011

    " Nice light read. I did like the characters and I have always felt that good character development would carry a bad story. This book had good characters AND a good story. Only one surprise but that lends to comfort reading. Handed the book to a friend. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Megan | 6/7/2011

    " Cute, fun, and easy beachy read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Cyn | 5/15/2011

    " Received an ARC from LibraryThing. A nice easy read but with a too predictible ending. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Valerie | 5/11/2011

    " Fans of Dorothea Benton Frank and Mary Alice Monroe should like this one... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dgoll | 5/6/2011

    " I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is a well written story of loss and rebirth and best of all is set on Nantucket. If you know the island well like I do, you will recognize all the places mentioned and really feel like you are living the story. Great fun. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Nancy ThayerNancy Thayer is the New York Times bestselling author of Nantucket Sisters, A Nantucket Christmas, Island Girls, Summer Breeze, Heat Wave, Beachcombers, Summer House, Moon Shell Beach, and The Hot Flash Club. She lives in Nantucket.
About the Narrator

Kathe Mazur has narrated many audiobooks, winning the prestigious Audie Award for best narration in 2014, being named a finalist for the Audie Award in 2013 and 2015, and winning seven AudioFile Earphones Awards. As an actress, she can be seen as DDA Hobbs on The Closer and in the upcoming Major Crimes. She has worked extensively in film, theater, and television, including appearances on Grey’s Anatomy, Private Practice, House, Brothers and Sisters, Criminal Minds: Suspect Behavior, ER, Monk, and many others.