Extended Audio Sample

Download Hard Target: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Hard Target: A Novel Audiobook, by Howard Gordon Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (803 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Howard Gordon Narrator: MacLeod Andrews Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2012 ISBN: 9781442344365
Regular Price: $23.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

From the executive producer of 24 and co-creator of Homeland, the exciting follow-up to Gideon’s War involves a harrowing attempt to stop a homegrown terrorist plot to destroy the US government.

Gideon Davis has settled into the quiet life of an academic and is weeks away from being married when he discovers evidence of an impending terrorist attack on US soil. He brings his suspicions to his ex-girlfriend, FBI Agent Nancy Clement, but her bosses are leery of Gideon’s source: a meth-head informant affiliated with a white supremacist group. Both Gideon and Nancy become increasingly convinced that a serious plot exists, but their informant is murdered before they can get more details from him. So Gideon enlists his brother, Tillman—newly sprung from prison through a presidential pardon— as an undercover operative to infiltrate a group of white supremacists who may be involved.

Eventually, Gideon and Tillman get on the trail of the real conspirators and uncover their audacious plan to eliminate the entire top tier of the US government during a high-value, mass-casualty attack. With only Nancy’s support, Gideon and Tillman go rogue to stop the powerful titan behind the conspiracy before the entire government is toppled.

With nonstop action and ticking time-bomb suspense, Hard Target will keep readers turning pages and their hearts pumping fast.

Download and start listening now!

BK_SANS_005747

Quotes & Awards

  • “Thriller aficionados and doubtless many conspiracy theorists will enjoy this story as will fans of the first Gideon novel.” 

    Library Journal

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ward Howarth | 2/14/2014

    " Finishing this book, my first MacDonald, I felt ashamed at not having read him before. What a wordsmith. Some truly beautiful turns of phrase run through the whole book, although at times his use of simile comes off as overdone. While it gets a little talky at the end, I really dug his two or three false endings and can't wait to read more of Lew Archer. A real noir ending, as well, I think, does the whole thing justice. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tfitoby | 2/13/2014

    " The first of Grandmaster MacDonald's Lew Archer series is pretty much what you would expect from a talented young writer trying to emulate Chandler and Hammett. It's better written than most that followed but it's also derivative and obvious. A solid start but he gets better with age and experience. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Wolfgang | 1/25/2014

    " Another quality detective novel by Macdonald. It's excellent pacing, and ability to throw suspicion all the individuals involved was excellent. I highly recommend this for fans of the genre, and even those that aren't. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Corey Ryan | 1/20/2014

    " I had higher expectations. I was bored most of the time. The end wasn't that surprising. I don't want to think that all his books are like this. This is the first in the Lew Archer series so Macdonald could easily find his stride a couple books down. I'll try again some other time. Maybe it was all me. Maybe I over did the mysteries. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Electric Funeral | 1/13/2014

    " a genre classic. think advanced chandler. solid plot, good writing, a man of his time but way better than chandler in my book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Judy | 1/12/2014

    " Recently I saw "Harper" on TMC & in the introduction learned that it was based on a book by Ross Macdonald. That didn't mean anything to me, but the detective in the book, Lou Archer, was familiar. So I decided to check out one of the series. Since it was written some time ago, things are a bit dated, i.e. a dollar paid for info from someone. The book was okay, & now that I've satisfied my curiosity, I will stick to Bill Pronzini's "Nameless Detective" series. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dan Kearns | 1/7/2014

    " This is definitive noir/detective. I didnt realize how much the whole genre owed to MacDonald. I wasnt so sure about the ending, but still this is completely solid and the classic form of the detective novel. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Eric | 12/8/2013

    " Clearly indebted to Chandler. Not quite on par, but still pretty damn good as far as hard-boiled mysteries go. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nonamedufus | 11/28/2013

    " Loved Ross Macdonald's first book. While written in the 40s it still stands up. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 doug bowman | 8/27/2013

    " Ah Lew Archer. Always an avuncular figure just trying to get to the bottom of all things "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Adam | 8/2/2013

    " My first exposure to Ross Macdonald and Lew Archer. A good, page-turning mystery in the vein of Hammett & Chandler. Not terribly memorable, but amply enjoyable. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jesse | 11/14/2012

    " Very much a continuation of Chandler's style-- the spare narration that occasionally bursts into philosophical wordiness, entangled plot, pervading darkness and pessimism. I enjoyed it immensely. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Erik | 11/13/2012

    " The first in the Lew Archer series. Very Chandleresque and even more metaphorical. Didn't exactly knock my socks off, but word on the street is that they get better as the series progresses. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mike Savage | 9/14/2012

    " Macdonald's plots are intricate and some of his prose is remarkably creative. "Soundless as shadows on grass," is one memorable metaphor that I recall. May not be in this book, but a great line in any novel. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Roshni | 7/12/2012

    " An awesomel complex mystery et in California. Archer is a cynicist, humorist, and idealist somehow all at the same time "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brett James | 4/28/2012

    " I can't tell you how many times I've pull this book off the shelf just to read the first page to someone. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Elizabeth | 3/30/2012

    " This is the very first mystery from the excellent Lew Archer series by Ross MacDonald. It lives up to the hype! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Howard Gordon

Howard Gordon is a Golden Globe and Emmy Award-winning writer and producer who has worked in Hollywood for more than twenty years. He cocreated the hit Showtime series Homeland and is the showrunner of the NBC series Awake. He also served as executive producer of the hit television show 24 for its full eight season run. Prior to working on 24, Gordon was a writer and executive producer for The X-Files. His other credits include Angel, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Beauty and the Beast, Spenser: For Hire, and Sisters. He is an active member of the Pacific Council on International Relations and a current board member and former president of the Stroke Association of Southern California. He serves on the Advisory Board of Princeton’s Lewis Center for the Performing Arts and is a member of the Homeland Security Advisory Council’s Community Resilience Task Force. He lives with his family in Pacific Palisades, California.

About the Narrator

MacLeod Andrews is an actor, voice actor, and audiobook narrator. He has narrated dozens of audiobooks, earning eleven AudioFile Earphones Awards and placing as a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award for best narration in 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2016. He is a company member of Rising Phoenix Repertory in Los Angeles.