Extended Audio Sample

Download Goodbye Days Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Goodbye Days Audiobook, by Jeff Zentner Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jeff Zentner Narrator: Michael Crouch Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: March 2017 ISBN: 9781524709464
Regular Price: $27.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $21.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

“Gorgeous, heartbreaking, and ultimately life-affirming,” says Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author, of this novel about finding strength and hope after tragedy.

Carver Briggs never thought a simple text would cause a fatal crash, killing his three best friends, Mars, Eli, and Blake. But now Carver can’t stop blaming himself for the accident and even worse, a powerful judge is pressuring the district attorney to open up a criminal investigation.

Luckily, Carver has some unexpected allies: Eli’s girlfriend, the only person to stand by him at school; Dr. Mendez, his new therapist; and Blake’s grandmother, who asks Carver to spend a “goodbye day” together to share their memories and say a proper farewell.

Soon the other families are asking for their own goodbye day with Carver—but he’s unsure of their motives. Will they all be able to make peace with their losses, or will these goodbye days bring Carver one step closer to a complete breakdown or—even worse—prison?

Includes the song “The Motion of the Earth” by Jeff Zentner, performed by Jeff Zentner and Elin Palmer

Download and start listening now!

c2ll

Quotes & Awards

  • “Narrator Michael Crouch’s tonal changes are crucial to the story of Carver, a seventeen-year-old whose texting has contributed to the death of his three best friends. Crouch expresses Carver’s regret and grief…Crouch equally succeeds with the secondary characters…Crouch’s shifting tones highlight the many aspects of grief and the power of connection. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    AudioFile

  • “Zentner’s great achievement—particularly impressive for a first novel—is to make us believe three such different people could be friends. He also manages to blend a dank, oppressive, Flannery O’Connor-esque sense of place with humor and optimism …. I adored all three of these characters and the way they talked to and loved one another.”

    New York Times Book Review
  • “Pens would run dry if readers were to underline extraordinary sentences—the kind that are so true, or funny, or beautiful that they clamp hearts…[An] extraordinary YA debut.”

    Shelf Awareness (starred review)
  • “Characters, incidents, dialogue, the poverty of the rural South, enduring friendship, a desperate clinging to strange faiths, fear of the unknown, and an awareness of the courage it takes to survive, let alone thrive, are among this fine novel’s strengths. Zentner writes with understanding and grace—a new voice to savor.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
  • “The third-person narration manages to convey distinct flavor for each deeply personal and introspective storyline, so each character emerges as an authentic individual, flawed yet lovable, and readers will find themselves drawn by the heartstrings into their complex lives.”

    The Bulletin (starred review)
  • “Zentner does an excellent job in creating empathetic characters, especially his protagonist Carver, a budding writer whose first-person account of his plight is artful evidence of his talent.”

    Booklist (starred review)
  • “[T]his sepia-toned portrait of small-town life serves as a moving testament to love, loyalty, faith, and reaching through the darkness to find light and hope.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • “One of the most stunningly heartfelt, lump-in-your-throat novels I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. Hold on to your heart: this book will wreck you, fix you, and most definitely change you.”

    Becky Albertalli, author of Morris Award winner Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
  • “A story about friendship, family and forgiveness, it’s as funny and witty as it is utterly heartbreaking.”

    Paste magazine

  • “Will fill the infinite space that was left in your chest after you finished The Perks of Being a Wallflower.”

    BookRiot.com  
  • “Thorough characterization and artful prose allow readers to intimately experience the highs and lows of these three friends …. Recommended for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.”

    School Library Journal
  • “An organic, frequently raw narrative.”

    Horn Book
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Jeff Zentner is a singer-songwriter and guitarist who has recorded with Iggy Pop, Nick Cave, and Debbie Harry. In addition to writing and recording his own music, he works with young musicians at Tennessee Teen Rock Camp, which inspired him to write a novel for young adults.

About the Narrator

Michael Crouch is a six-time winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award for narration. He is a New York–based actor specializing in voice-over. His keen ear and knack for personalizing copy have established him as a flexible and creative national talent.