Extended Audio Sample

Download Goodbye Days Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Goodbye Days Audiobook, by Jeff Zentner Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jeff Zentner Narrator: Michael Crouch Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: March 2017 ISBN: 9781524709464
Regular Price: $27.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $21.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

“Gorgeous, heartbreaking, and ultimately life-affirming,” says Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also A Star, of this novel about finding strength and hope after tragedy. Perfect for fans of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl and Looking for Alaska.
 

Carver Briggs never thought a simple text would cause a fatal crash, killing his three best friends, Mars, Eli, and Blake. But now Carver can’t stop blaming himself for the accident and even worse, a powerful judge is pressuring the district attorney to open up a criminal investigation. 
 
Luckily, Carver has some unexpected allies: Eli’s girlfriend, the only person to stand by him at school; Dr. Mendez, his new therapist; and Blake’s grandmother, who asks Carver to spend a “goodbye day” together to share their memories and say a proper farewell.
 
Soon the other families are asking for their own goodbye day with Carver—but he’s unsure of their motives. Will they all be able to make peace with their losses, or will these goodbye days bring Carver one step closer to a complete breakdown or—even worse—prison?

Includes the song “The Motion of the Earth” by Jeff Zentner, performed by Jeff Zentner and Elin Palmer


“One of the most stunningly heartfelt, lump-in-your-throat novels I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. Hold on to your heart: this book will wreck you, fix you, and most definitely change you.” —Becky Albertalli, author of Morris Award winner Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Tender, honest, moving, and lyrical. His characters live and breathe. Ahh, lucky me. Lucky us. Zentner is the real thing.” Benjamin Alire Sáenz, winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction and Printz Honor winning author of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe Download and start listening now!

c2ll

Quotes & Awards

  • Zentner’s great achievement — particularly impressive for a first novel — is to make us believe three such different people could be friends. He also manages to blend a dank, oppressive, Flannery O’Connor-esque sense of place with humor and optimism .... I adored all three of these characters and the way they talked to and loved one another. New York Times Book Review
  • Zentner does an excellent job in creating empathetic characters, especially his protagonist Carver, a budding writer whose first-person account of his plight is artful evidence of his talent. Booklist, Starred
  • Racial tensions, spoiled reputations, and broken homes all play roles in an often raw meditation on grief and the futility of entertaining what-ifs when faced with awful, irreversible events. Publishers Weekly, Starred
  • [E]xquisite and tragic. Shelf Awareness, Starred
  • [A] novel full of wisdom. Kirkus
  • "[The] kind of intelligent, intense, and life-affirming tale that will resonate with teens seeking depth and honesty. SLJ 
  • “Narrator Michael Crouch’s tonal changes are crucial to the story of Carver, a seventeen-year-old whose texting has contributed to the death of his three best friends. Crouch expresses Carver’s regret and grief…Crouch equally succeeds with the secondary characters…Crouch’s shifting tones highlight the many aspects of grief and the power of connection. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    AudioFile

  • Tender, honest, moving, and lyrical. Zentner is the real thing. Benjamin Alire Sáenz, winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction and Printz Honor winner
  • An Indie Next List Selection
  • "An organic, frequently raw narrative. Horn Book
  • "Tissues not optional. The Bulletin
  • Move over, John Green; Zentner is coming for you. The New York Public Library
  • Will fill the infinite space that was left in your chest after you finished The Perks of Being a Wallflower. BookRiot.com  
  • A story about friendship, family and forgiveness, it’s as funny and witty as it is utterly heartbreaking. PasteMagazine.com
  • A brutally honest portrayal of teen life . . . [and] a love letter to the South from a man who really understands it. Mashable.com
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Jeff Zentner is a singer-songwriter and guitarist who has recorded with Iggy Pop, Nick Cave, and Debbie Harry. In addition to writing and recording his own music, he works with young musicians at Tennessee Teen Rock Camp, which inspired him to write a novel for young adults.

About the Narrator

Michael Crouch is an Audie Award–winning actor based in New York City. His audiobook narration has earned nine Earphones Awards from AudioFile magazine and Best of the Year accolades from Booklist, School Library Journal, and Publishers Weekly. He can also be heard on national commercials, cartoons, video games, and the animé series Pokémon XY and Yu-Gi-Oh! Arc-V.