Extended Audio Sample

Download God's Spy Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Gods Spy Audiobook, by Juan Gomez-Jurado Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (909 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Juan Gomez-Jurado Narrator: Kate Reading Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: April 2007 ISBN: 9781429585866
Regular Price: $20.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In the days following the Pope’s death, a cardinal is found brutally murdered in a chapel in Rome, his eyes gouged and his hands cut off. Called in for the grisly case, police inspector Paola Dicanti learns that another cardinal was recently found dead; he had also been tortured. Desperate to find the killer before another victim dies, Paola’s investigation is soon joined by Father Anthony Fowler—an American priest and former Army intelligence officer examining sexual abuse in the Church, who knows far more about the killer than Paola could possibly imagine. As Paola and Father Anthony struggle through a maze of tantalizing clues, they begin to question whether someone in the Vatican is aiding their cause or abetting a murderer. And when evidence leads them to powerful figures within the Church hierarchy, their own pursuit of the truth may make them the next pawns to be sacrificed in a terrifying and deadly game. A dazzling, impossible-to-put-down thriller, Juan Gomez-Jurado’s God’s Spy marks the arrival of a major new talent to the contemporary suspense fiction scene.                  

Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_000556

Listener Opinions

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Kman999 | 2/14/2014

    " total, utter tripe ... where is 0/5 when you need it? "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Fi | 2/11/2014

    " Brilliant read. I loved every minute of this book. It's definitely on my purchase list. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bookworm | 2/4/2014

    " This is a solid serial-killer thriller. Those who like books like the Da Vinci Code will certainly enjoy this read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jen | 1/24/2014

    " If "Angels and Demons" and any book by Patricia Cornwell had a baby, it would be this book. It won't change your life (or your feelings on Catholicism, whatever those feelings might be), but it's definitely worth reading. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lakshmi Mahanra | 1/13/2014

    " Violent! But somewht dont really like dicanti's character..nice to read nevertheless.. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Memy Jedo | 12/15/2013

    " Hmm, fiksi yang benar2 menakutkan tentang seorang psikopat yang sangat brutal! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Thasc | 11/1/2013

    " I was expecting something in the same sort of ilk as Dan Brown full of mystery and intrigue but it didn't even come close. Average sort of fair, something to pass the time, although I thought Father Fowler's character was interesting "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rich | 5/6/2013

    " Liked the book. Heavy on the murder, detective, personal side. Light on the Catholic, Pope, Conclave side. Was actually looking for the Pope, Conclave thread, but still enjoyed the book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ritsa | 1/25/2013

    " A very interesting and engaging thriller... very much in the vein of "Angels and Demons" (lots of running around Rome trying to save Cardinals!!)but written in a better literary style and with a more believeable storyline.. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kari | 2/12/2012

    " A good thriller from this first time author. I felt it was different to other thrillers I have read - which was a good thing, and I always like reading about religion when teemed with unusual genres like this one. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Marianne Stehr | 1/13/2012

    " This is a very good thriller that reminds me of a combination of Angels and Demons and the 1970's Chevy Chase movie Foul Play. It is filled with suspense and it adds true events in the Catholic Church to keep it "real." It leaves you with questions after it is done, a real good thriller! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Yeoldehoosier | 7/10/2011

    " This is a translation of a Spanish book, Espia de Dios, that sold well in Europe. Although Dan Brown had already published the first two installments of the Langdon saga, I feel this book is superior to both in style. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Christie | 7/8/2011

    " Similar to the Da Vinci Code, but not as good. Still worth reading! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Nancy | 6/30/2011

    " Good spy thriller. Interesting info about the smallest country in the world. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rony | 5/11/2011

    " Easy read. Frenetic rhythm. Once you start really difficult to put it down. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tushar | 5/1/2011

    " After Dan brown, I found this a banal attempt to cook up conspiracy fiction using the vatican, though I liked a few facts jotted in this book "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mary | 4/5/2011

    " Enough twists and turns to keep most people guessing, or at least me. A bit graphic, and difficult to realize how twisted some people can be. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Zolliker | 12/8/2010

    " Uno de los top5 que leí en el 2010 "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Nancy | 10/12/2010

    " Good spy thriller. Interesting info about the smallest country in the world. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Yeoldehoosier | 10/7/2010

    " This is a translation of a Spanish book, Espia de Dios, that sold well in Europe. Although Dan Brown had already published the first two installments of the Langdon saga, I feel this book is superior to both in style. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rich | 5/7/2010

    " Liked the book. Heavy on the murder, detective, personal side. Light on the Catholic, Pope, Conclave side. Was actually looking for the Pope, Conclave thread, but still enjoyed the book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kari | 3/18/2010

    " A good thriller from this first time author. I felt it was different to other thrillers I have read - which was a good thing, and I always like reading about religion when teemed with unusual genres like this one.
    "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Maggie | 2/17/2010

    " Catholic and grusome. 'nuff said "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Juan Gomez-Jurado

Juan Gómez-Jurado is a columnist in “La Voz de Galicia,” and “ABC”, distributed in Spain, and he participates in several radio and TV programs. His books have been translated into 42 languages, making him one of the most successful contemporary Spanish authors of all time.

About the Narrator

Kate Reading is an Audie Award–winning narrator and has received numerous Earphones Awards from AudioFile magazine. She is also a theater actor in the Washington, DC, area and has been a member of the Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company since 1987. Her work onstage has been recognized by the Helen Hayes Awards Society, among others. She and her husband live in Hyattsville, Maryland, with their two children.