Extended Audio Sample

Download Girl in Pieces Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Girl in Pieces, by Kathleen Glasgow Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Kathleen Glasgow Narrator: Kathleen Glasgow, Julia Whelan Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $27.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $21.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes a young-adult novel that New York Times bestselling novelist Nicola Yoon calls “a haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you’ve read the last page.”

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.

A deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing, and has taken so much, and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. Kathleen Glasgow’s debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It’s a story you won’t be able to look away from.

Download and start listening now!

c0bg

Quotes & Awards

  • A haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page. Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything
  • Raw, visceral, and starkly beautiful, with writing that is at times transcendent in its brilliance. . . . An unforgettable story of trauma and resilience. Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned
  • A breathtakingly written book about pain and hard-won healing . . . I want every girl to read Girl In Pieces. Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners
  • Girl In Pieces is like the friend you wish you had by your side for every hard choice and every time you've felt lost or alone. It's fearless and uncompromising, but overflowing with heart and wisdom. Anthony Breznican, author of Brutal Youth.
  • Dark, frank, and tender, Girl in Pieces keeps the reader electrified for its entire journey. You’re so uncertain if Charlie will heal, so fully immersed in hoping she does. Michelle Wildgen, author of Bread and Butter and You’re Not You
  • Girl in Pieces has the breath of life; every character in it is fully alive. Charlie Davis' complexities are drawn with great understanding and subtlety. Charles Baxter, author of National Book Award finalist The Feast of Love
  • Charlie Davis has been damaged and abused after several years of living on the streets, but she is fiercely resilient.  Though it will appeal to readers of Ellen Foster, Speak, and Girl, Interrupted, Girl in Pieces is an entirely original work, compulsively readable and deeply human. Julie Schumacher, author the New York Times bestseller Dear Committee Members
  • "In this sharp and beautiful portrait of eighteen-year-old Charlie Davis, Kathleen Glasgow illuminates not only the anxiety of youth but the vulnerability and terror of life in general. What a shock it is to engage with such a sensitive, sad, rage-filled soul: Glasgow's rendering of experience and emotion is so succinct and honest that I kept catching my breath in recognition, and admiration for her sensibility and empathy which glows on every page. Girl in Pieces hurts my heart in the best way possible. Amanda Coplin, author of the New York Times bestseller The Orchadist
  • Charlie Davis' voice is diamond-beautiful and diamond-sharp which, when strung together by a delicious story and memorable characters, creates a rare and powerful read. Kathleen Glasgow's Girl in Pieces is a treasure of a novel. Swati Avasthi, author of Split and Chasing Shadows
  • Written with wit and authenticity, Girl in Pieces is an extraordinary coming-of-age story, an unsentimental and affecting tale of a girl who almost doesn't make it to adulthood. Glasgow has a terrific ear for dialogue and an enviable gift for creating vivid characters, and her narrator--eighteen-year-old Charlie Davis--brings a backstreet eloquence to bear on a wrenching subject. Wise, unflinching, and balm for the kind of heartbreak that can't ever be fully mended, Girl in Pieces is a very, very good novel. Summer Wood, author of Arroyo and Raising Wrecker
  • [Readers] will find themselves driven to see Charlie’s story through. They will better understand a world that often makes no sense to outsiders. Glasgow’s debut novel is a dark read, but the engaging writing will win an audience for [Glasgow]. VOYA, Starred review
  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • “Narrator Julia Whelan’s initial portrayal of Charlie reveals her unwillingness to speak—as well as her pain, fear, and fury…Gradually, Whelan recounts the changes Charlie experiences in a treatment center…On release, Whelan contrasts the safety Charlie has come to know with her mother’s coldness and desertion…Whelan’s portrayals of minor characters aid the realism of the optimistic ending. The author’s afterword tells of her personal trials and offers resources. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    AudioFile

  • "In Glasgow’s riveting debut novel, readers are pulled close to Charlie’s raw, authentic emotions as she strains to make a jagged path through her new life. Love and trust prove difficult, and Charlie’s judgment is not well honed, but her will to survive is glorious.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Glasgow’s debut novel is a dark read, but the engaging writing will win an audience.”

    VOYA

  • “This realistic fiction title is heartbreaking and thick with emotion, and the characters are fully formed and realistic. The book is written in short chapters and can feel a little choppy at times, but the narrative still captivates. It will keep young adults engaged and rooting for the main character throughout.”

    School Library Journal

  • A Girl, Interrupted for a new generation…The story of the mad girl is ultimately a story about being a girl in a mad world, how it breaks us into pieces and how we glue ourselves back together.”

    Melissa Febos, author of Whip Smart

  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations