Extended Audio Sample

Download Ghosts and Lightning Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Ghosts and Lightning Audiobook, by Trevor Byrne Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (147 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Trevor Byrne Narrator: John Lee Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2010 ISBN: 9781400185559
Regular Price: $16.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

An outstanding debut novel set in Dublin from a young Irish novelist that echoes the poignant, comical, and gritty voices of Roddy Doyle, Patrick McCabe, and Irvine Welsh

Set in contemporary Dublin and the surrounding countryside,Ghosts and Lightning is a picaresque account of Denny Cullen’s life after he is called back home to attend his mother’s funeral. Denny—a sweet-natured but disillusioned young man who feels powerless in the face of death, dope, and the dole queue—is the steadiest in a cast of unstable characters. Denny and his lads fill their empty days with hooliganism, raucous parties, violence, and even an exorcism, but their fearlessness and humor make them as irresistible as an expertly pulled pint of Guinness.

Download and start listening now!

beg1

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Steph | 1/14/2014

    " The writing is unique and wonderful. This novel actually has a voice of it's own. The text is so unbelievably rich, you can hear the dialogue, see the sights of Dublin, and witness the chaos and pain. This novel is intelligent, unpretentious and entertaining. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Emily | 1/4/2014

    " ghosts and lightning was an ok book. byrne is a really great writer and i admire his skills at writing the story completely in dublin dialect. you felt like you were friends with all the characters and knew their personalities and mannerisms like you had grown up with them. however, i never got completely absorbed in the book. i could relate to some of the pro-wrestling descriptions and a couple of the british shows they watched, but the book had one of those "coming to terms with myself" plots that i couldn't relate to. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Andrea | 12/29/2013

    " If you've ever spent time on a less-than-genteel estate in the UK, you'll be able to understand where Denny Cullen and his family (and pals) are coming from. I didn't expect to like or finish this, but I did in the end, because it's very contemporary and real. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 William Thomas | 12/16/2013

    " An irishman's gift for storytelling and a flourish of prose does not save this book from drowning and floundering. It is only a slice of life book- no matter what the dust jacket would have you believe. If the story had woven the Sean e and ghosts in deeper or more often, there would have been a tether, but instead it floats an drifts without a clear focus. Beautiful nonetheless in most places and worth the read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Dominic Kearney | 12/7/2013

    " I loved this book. Simple as that. Trevor Byrne is a highly skillful writer, good enough so's you don't really notice it. With the very first sentence you've got the tone, the situation, the young man at the heart of the story, returning home to Dublin, brought back by the death of his mother. And wrapped around his story is the city of Dublin - funny, threatening, shallow, and deep. It's a rich story, richly told. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bruce Geils | 11/28/2013

    " I spoke in an Irish accent all the time I was reading this book. Feckin brilliant. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mary | 11/14/2013

    " Why am I reading so many books in dialect lately? This one feels natural, but at first it takes getting used to all the "yis want a pint o this, so". There's a little spookiness, but mainly it explores friendships and family. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Melanie | 8/30/2013

    " Laughed out loud, many times over. A 21st c. Ulysses, tragi-comedy, coming of age story as Denny the wastrel wrestles with his mother's death and tries to becvome a man in modern Ireland. Loved,can't wait to read what he publishes next! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rebecca | 4/14/2013

    " I loved the language--all the Irish slang. They sure do a lot of drinking and pill popping! "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Barbara Bryan | 7/29/2012

    " Couldnt read it. Written in strange dialect made it difficult. just not interested. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jen | 1/1/2012

    " Excellent story of young dubliners at a loss as to what to do with their lives. Written in the vernacular and well worth it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kerri | 12/5/2011

    " It was ok. I like Roddy Doyle and the writing is very similar, but I wasn't blown away by it. It started to remind me of a Guy Ritchie movie only without a twist. Its a pretty fast read though. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Michael | 11/14/2011

    " Set in modern day Dublin, heavy on dialect, twenty-somethings friends struggling to find themselves and Denny, the main character is recovering from the sudden death of his mother. Swearing, some violence, drinking, drugs throughout the book, along with some humorous scenes. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Adrienne Quint | 9/11/2011

    " It made me miss Ireland and my friends there. Aside from making me nostalgic, it was a lovely story. Good craic. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Meg | 9/8/2011

    " Just a slice of Irish life. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Tracey | 6/8/2011

    " Adult fiction. I think I could like this book--it's got zany, Irish characters and colorful dialogue, but I just couldn't get into it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Aaron | 4/19/2011

    " I actually would give it 3 1/2 stars. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rebecca | 1/30/2011

    " I loved the language--all the Irish slang. They sure do a lot of drinking and pill popping! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Melanie | 12/6/2010

    " Laughed out loud, many times over. A 21st c. Ulysses, tragi-comedy, coming of age story as Denny the wastrel wrestles with his mother's death and tries to becvome a man in modern Ireland. Loved,can't wait to read what he publishes next! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mary | 11/18/2010

    " Why am I reading so many books in dialect lately? This one feels natural, but at first it takes getting used to all the "yis want a pint o this, so". There's a little spookiness, but mainly it explores friendships and family. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Tracey | 11/6/2010

    " Adult fiction. I think I could like this book--it's got zany, Irish characters and colorful dialogue, but I just couldn't get into it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Meg | 4/9/2010

    " Just a slice of Irish life. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Andrew | 3/1/2010

    " A jumbled yound life
    would watch a movie of it
    man finding his way "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Catherine | 2/5/2010

    " In the vein of Roddy Doyle and Irvine Welsh... "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Trevor Byrne was born in 1981 and brought up in Clondalkin in south Dublin. He attended Trinity College and the University of Glamorgan, where he is currently a tutor of creative writing.

About the Narrator

John Lee, a stage actor and writer and a coproducer of feature films, has narrated more than one hundred audiobooks of every conceivable genre, earning some three dozen Earphones Awards and the prestigious Audie Award.