From Hang Time to Prime Time: Business, Entertainment, and the Birth of the Modern-Day NBA Audiobook, by Pete Croatto Play Audiobook Sample

Download From Hang Time to Prime Time: Business, Entertainment, and the Birth of the Modern-Day NBA Audiobook

From Hang Time to Prime Time: Business, Entertainment, and the Birth of the Modern-Day NBA Audiobook, by Pete Croatto Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $23.99 Add to Cart
Author: Pete Croatto Narrator: Feodor Chin Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Audio Length: Release Date: December 2020 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781797116303

Publisher Description

Perfect for fans of Moneyball and The Book of Basketball, this vivid, thoroughly entertaining, and well-researched book explores the NBA’s surge in popularity in the 1970s and 1980s and its transformation into a global cultural institution.

Far beyond simply being a sports league, the NBA has become an entertainment and pop culture juggernaut. From all kinds of team logo merchandise to officially branded video games and players crossing over into reality television, film, fashion lines, and more, there is an inseparable line between sports and entertainment. But only four decades ago, this would have been unthinkable.

Featuring writing that leaps off the page with energy and wit, journalist and basketball fan Pete Croatto takes us behind the scenes to the meetings that lead to the monumental American Basketball Association–National Basketball Association merger in 1976, revolutionizing the NBA’s image. He pays homage to legendary talents including Julius “Dr. J” Erving, Magic Johnson, and Michael Jordan and reveals how two polar-opposite rookies, Larry Bird and Magic Johnson, led game attendance to skyrocket and racial lines to dissolve. Croatto also dives into CBS’s personality-driven coverage of key players, as well as other cable television efforts, which launched NBA players into unprecedented celebrity status.

Essential reading whether you’re a casual or longtime fan, From Hang Time to Prime Time is an enthralling and entertaining celebration of basketball history.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Any fan of the game would do well to pick this up—it’s a slam dunk.”

    - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Pete Croatto’s writing has appeared in many outlets, including The New York Times, Columbia Journalism Review, Rolling Stone, and more. He lives just outside Ithaca, New York, with his wife, daughter, and a basketball hoop in the driveway.

About the Narrator

Feodor Chin, an AudioFile Earphones Award–winning narrator, is an actor classically trained at the American Conservatory Theater and UCLA. His acting career includes numerous credits in film, television, theater, and voice-over.