Extended Audio Sample

Download Frankland: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Frankland: A Novel Audiobook, by James Whorton Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 5 3.50 (4 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: James Whorton Narrator: Nick Landrum Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2016 ISBN: 9781456122560
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

With droll humor and biting wit, critically acclaimed author James Whorton, Jr. pens enjoyable novels in the tradition of John Kennedy Toole and Walker Percy.

In Frankland, a socially challenged young man named John H. Tolley aspires to be a prestigious historian despite his lack of a college degree. To that end, he embarks on a journey to east Tennessee to track down seventeenth President Andrew Johnson’s secret papers, which may or may not actually exist.

When he arrives, he meets a quirky group of people who inadvertently serve to obstruct him from his more scholarly pursuits.

Download and start listening now!

c2um

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kathy | 9/24/2010

    " The tone and the protagonist were a bit like A Confederacy of Dunces, but overall, this is not anywhere near as good a book (what is?). Still, it was a mildly amusing read. I actually found all the info on Andrew Johnson's presidency to be pretty interesting. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sarah | 6/6/2010

    " Review from the Thought Lost List of Books to Read: <3 "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Siszurpicki | 3/1/2010

    " Listening in the car back and forth to work. Don't bother. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Margie | 1/9/2008

    " also written by my friend. The political science nerd in me liked this in addition to the book lover. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Jim Whorton is the author of the novels Angela Sloan, Frankland, and Approximately Heaven. A former Mississippian and former Tennessean, he lives in Rochester, New York and teaches at the College at Brockport.

About the Narrator

Nick Landrum is an award-winning narrator, singer, and voice-over artist. His audiobook work includes The Virgin Suicides, Bob Dylan’s unabridged Chronicles, and he is the voice of the popular Dexter series. Landrum has won two AudioFile Earphones Awards. He lives in Brooklyn with his family.