Download Forever England : The Life Of Rupert Brooke Audiobook

Forever England : The Life Of Rupert Brooke Audiobook, by Mike Read Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Mike Read Narrator: Mike Read Publisher: Monkeynut Audiobook Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: March 2020 ISBN: 9781518999345
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $15.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Forever England explores Rupert Brooke’s life, from schooldays to the Great War, and in so doing builds a remarkable picture of a long-lost England and a generation’s descent into war. Brooke’s poems emerge dramatically from a tangled web of love, friendship, mental illness and politics. He reveals also the existence of a previously unrecorded love child from a South Seas romance.

The WW1 legend was largely brought about by the words of one of his sonnets: ‘If I should die, think only this of me/That there’s some corner of a foreign field that is forever England.’ The poem, and all that it represented, became the focal point of a nation’s grief for its lost youth.

Asked why Brooke was special, his Commander-in-Chief answered, "Is it because he was a hero? There were thousands? Is it because he looked a hero? There were a few. Is it because he had genius? There were others. But Rupert Brooke held all these three gifts of the gods in his hands.

Forever England is written and narrated by Mike Read. Download and start listening now!


Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review