Extended Audio Sample

Download For the Benefit of Those Who See: Dispatches from the World of the Blind Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample For the Benefit of Those Who See: Dispatches from the World of the Blind, by Rosemary Mahoney Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Rosemary Mahoney Narrator: Rosemary Mahoney Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.98 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

The celebrated author of Down the Nile travels far afield as part of her investigation into the world of the blind.

In the tradition of Oliver Sacks’ The Island of the Colorblind, Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed by what she learned from the blind children of Tibet, Mahoney was moved to investigate further the cultural history of blindness. As part of her research, she spent three months teaching at Tenberken’s international training center for blind adults in Kerala, India, an experience that reveals both the shocking oppression endured by the world’s blind, as well as their great resilience, integrity, ingenuity, and strength. By living among the blind, Rosemary Mahoney enables us to see them in fascinating close up, revealing their particular “quality of ease that seems to broadcast a fundamental connection to the world.” In listening to For the Benefit of Those Who See, you will never see the world in quite the same way again.

Download and start listening now!

b7av

Quotes & Awards

  • “In this intelligent and humane book, Rosemary Mahoney writes of people who are blind…She reports on their courage and gives voice, time and again, to their miraculous dignity.”

    Andrew Solomon, New York Times bestselling author of Far From the Tree

  • “[A] joyful, thoughtful book.”

    Will Schwalbe, New York Times bestselling author of The End of Your Life Book Club

  • “[A] beautiful book…Mahoney becomes an exceptional translator for the blind, mediating for what she ends up seeing as two groups of people: those who see with their eyes, and those who see with their minds.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “A spiritual odyssey into the world of the blind…A beautiful meditation on human nature.”

    Booklist

  • “Rosemary Mahoney is one of a handful of nonfiction writers so original and so surprising that I look forward to each new book with an excitement bordering on impatience. What makes For the Benefit of Those Who See especially absorbing is that it turns on Mahoney’s greatest strength: her idiosyncratic and unblinking eye. As it explores the world of the blind, this provocative and revelatory work teaches us a great deal about what it means to see. And when I finished this book, I returned to the world feeling that all my senses had been sharpened.”

    George Howe Colt, author of The Big House

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Rosemary Mahoney was educated at Harvard College and Johns Hopkins University.  She is the recipient of a 2011 Guggenheim Fellowship, a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts, a Whiting Writer’s Award, and a nomination for the National Book Critic’s Circle Award. A citizen of Ireland and the United States, she lives in Rhode Island.