Extended Audio Sample

Download First the Egg Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample First the Egg Audiobook, by Laura Vaccaro Seeger Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.29 out of 54.29 out of 54.29 out of 54.29 out of 54.29 out of 5 4.29 (21 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Laura Vaccaro Seeger Narrator: Elle Fanning Publisher: Weston Woods Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2015 ISBN: 9780545521765
Regular Price: $13.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Which came first? The chicken or the egg? A book about transformations—from egg to chicken, seed to flower, and caterpillar to butterfly. An entirely fresh and memorable presentation on the concepts of growth and creativity.

Download and start listening now!

BK_SCHC_000333

Quotes & Awards

  • “A deceptively simple, decidedly playful sequence of statements invites readers to ponder, what comes first: the chicken or the egg?”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “Another nimble page-turner…Seeger’s clever conclusion brings all the elements together in an outdoor scene that returns readers to the opening.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “This delivers a string of delightful surprises as Seeger crisply explores the stages of development in the natural world and, then, how a story grows.”

    Booklist

  • A Caldecott Honor Book
  • A Grand Canyon Reader Award nominee

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Hira | 2/14/2014

    " great book for critical thinking "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Leslie | 2/9/2014

    " A Caldecott and Theodor Seus Geisel Honor book - this is a delightful picture book with peek through pages. Very few words accompany the wonderful paintings. A great read-aloud book for preschoolers!!! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sandy | 2/5/2014

    " Very vibrant colors and large words. Great beginner book. I love the artwork! C. 2007, genre-picture book/concept "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Luann | 2/1/2014

    " This is one of those seemingly ultra-simple books that definitely wasn't so simple to plan and execute. The colors are beautiful. It's fun to go back to the first panel of color and find the eyes that you didn't notice the first time, but which became apparent in the cut-out when you turned the page and saw the tadpole or the chicken. It's also fun that it starts with "First the egg, then the chicken" and ends with "First the chicken, then the egg." "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Joanna | 1/26/2014

    " Marvelous sequencing picture book which shows a simple 3 step series of metamorphoses for a egg> chicken, tadpole> frog, seed> flower, etc. Very appropriate for the "now, next" construction we're trying to teach to my son (now we brush our teeth, next we read the story) but I love it even more for the magic of transformation and the softly magnificent illustrations. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dolly | 1/22/2014

    " Cute story that shows a before and after view with interesting pictures and clever cut outs. I thought for a moment that it might solve the mystery of which came first, but alas, the book comes full circle, so the mystery stands. Our girls liked this story. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jeanette Yanez | 1/11/2014

    " I liked this book a lot. The author did a good job at tackling the never ending question of which can first? the egg or the chicken. It was nice to see that question in a variety of forms. It also shows children that there are many ways things can come about and it is not really the order in which something happens but rather what is the end result. The artwork in the book was very pretty and I enjoyed how creative the book was when moving from page to page, it flowed easily. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Monika | 1/7/2014

    " Very cute book that shows relationships between objects such as the egg, and the chicken. Very nice concept books for younger children. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mrs Bond | 1/5/2014

    " Explores what comes first, like: egg/chicken, seed/flower, word/story. Pretty illustrations. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Dani | 12/23/2013

    " Age-old philosophy in three words per page. One read-through and my three-year-old was obsessed and could read it to herself. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Krista | 11/23/2013

    " ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS BOOK! It is short, sweet, and too the point, which I think it partially what makes it so great! it shows the reader throughout the book what would come first in numerous situations which I think would help with there sequential knowledge. The illustrations are fantastic as well! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Elissa | 11/21/2013

    " cute kid's book! (the genre i read most these days... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Christa Wingen | 11/20/2013

    " I liked this book alot. It is simple, but will make the children guess what comes next. What a cute explanation about what came first...the chicken or the egg. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Leah | 11/13/2013

    " This is a really cool of how things form into full bloom. First the egg, then a chicken. First a seed, then a flower. And so on, great pictures for young students. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lesley | 8/25/2013

    " Cute book for young listeners and readers. Interesting pictures, incorporating shapes and colors from pictures/pages before and after. Good practice for predicting here. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kristie | 6/30/2013

    " Diecut pages. Large text, some words in all capital letters. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mimo | 3/5/2013

    " Very cool book about the age old question of the chicken and the egg. It takes the reader from nature to story to pictures and back to nature with oil painting like illustrations that use cutouts to provide clues of what will happen next. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jenny | 2/24/2013

    " An outstanding book about the progression of animals and things, such as how a painting begins with the paint and a frog starts out as a tadpole. Intriguing picture cut-outs, simple text. My kindergartener read it no problem. It is a Caldecott honor book and a Theodor Seuss Geisel honor book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Judi Paradis | 7/17/2012

    " This book won the Caldecott honor medal for 2007. If the egg comes first, kids need to think about what comes second, and what comes after that. This clever picture book uses cut outs to keep kids guessing as they follow the life-cycles of a number of creatures. A fun book to share with grades K-2. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sara | 3/2/2012

    " Excellent little cut-out style picture book. Very clear connections between what grows up into what and how (cocoon, tadpole grows legs, etc). Good read aloud. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Minorlibrarian | 3/1/2012

    " In the tradition of Lemons Are Not Red, First the Egg uses the same cut out style. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations