First Light Audiobook, by Rebecca Stead Play Audiobook Sample

Download First Light Audiobook

First Light Audiobook, by Rebecca Stead Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $18.95 Add to Cart
Author: Rebecca Stead Narrator: David Ackroyd, Coleen Marlo Publisher: Listening Library Audio Length: Release Date: April 2010 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780307710666

Publisher Description

PETER IS THRILLED to leave New York City to accompany his parents on an expedition to Greenland to study global warming. There he has visions of things that should be too far away for him to see. Generations ago, the people of Thea’s community were hunted for possessing unusual abilities, so they fled beneath the ice. Thea needs help that only Peter can give. Their meeting reveals secrets of both their pasts, and changes the future for them both forever.

Download and start listening now!

Customer Reviews

Write a Review
  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " I liked this book, but not as much as her second book, "When you Reach Me". It is a good 'coming of age' book about both a young boy and a young girl growing up in alternate worlds. Interesting how the author uses Global Warming in the story also. I did not like the fact that in the alternate world there are no real families, just Mothers and daughters and single men and boys. The author's reason for things being this way is interesting, but I don't agree as to the necessity. "

    - Lauralee, 2/8/2014
  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Ver good YA read....enjoyed the story and characters "

    - Kristine, 2/7/2014
  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Recommended for gr. 6-10. My favorite so far of the Virginia Readers' Choice middle school books. Mark is a contemporary middle schooler who is excited to miss school to accompany his parents to Greenland where his scientist father is studying global warming. Thea lives in an underground world created by her people generations ago to escape persecution. How their separate worlds come together makes for fascinating reading. Students who liked City of Ember should like this one. It will also appeal to both boys and girls. "

    - Kris, 2/6/2014
  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Really original, authentic characters, great setting. I hope she writes more! "

    - Janette, 1/29/2014
  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Peter, who lives in New York City, is thrilled to be able to join his parents on an expedition to Greenland, where his father will study global warming. While he is on the ice cap, Peter begins to have headaches, followed by a series of visions which is he struggling to understand. Thea has never seen the sun. Her people have retreated to a secret world they have built deep inside the arctic ice. Thea dreams of being able to reach the top of the surface and Peter is struggling to find answers. The two eventually meet and see how their worlds are intertwined. "

    - Shaundell, 1/27/2014
  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I didn't like it as much as when ,When you Reach me, but is was still really good! "

    - Ivy, 1/23/2014
  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " This book just left me curious enough not to quit. The first 100 pages are slow, but after that the story picks up. Overall, good book. I found the story line unique. "

    - Brandy, 1/20/2014
  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Giver-esque with a few twists. I love dystopia books "

    - Kris, 1/18/2014
  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Stead is a great author. She writes lyrically, and her plots are interesting and novel. This would be a great book to do as a lit circle with students. "

    - Danielle, 12/25/2013
  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " I thought it was kind of boring at the start of the book, but then had a great ending. "

    - Methornton, 12/8/2013
  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Sci-fi -ish young adult novel. Set in Greenland--made me feel cold. "

    - patience, 9/15/2013
  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " This book is really good. "

    - Jennie, 4/11/2013
  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " A really unique story about a boy who goes with his dad to Greenland to do research - their world connects with that of a clan that lives underground in their own society. So interesting! "

    - Kelsey, 3/23/2013
  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Amazing! Suggest this book to students who enjoyed the Ember series. "

    - Sue, 12/7/2012
  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Charming story about a group of people who chose to live buried deep in the Greenland ice. A plucky 14 yr old girl gets them out of their rut, helped by a visiting family of American scientists. "

    - Mia, 9/3/2012
  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Stead's first book is good, although it doesn't measure up to her second, the award-winning When Your Reach Me. Fascinating to read her first book and see how she grew as a writer. "

    - Leslie, 6/29/2012
  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I enjoyed this book and want to read more by this author. I think this was her first novel. This is one I'd encourage my 10 year old to read! "

    - Rachel, 5/4/2012
  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Quite enjoyable, the writing style was cheerful and the characters fun! I want a Chikchu! "

    - Ferne, 12/11/2011
  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " A great stay-up-all-night-to-finish story. It started off a little slowly, but before I was half-way through I couldn't put it down :) "

    - Nicole, 10/28/2011
  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I thought that in the beginning i thought the book was quite boring and i wasnt really sure what was going on but once i got a little farther things started making much more sense and the ending was great. so thats why i gave it 4 stars :] its a good book id read it if i were you. "

    - Marina, 6/26/2011
  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " I enjoyed it, the idea and the characters but I feel it was poorly written, it builds up to something then leaves you hanging. I thought it might be part of a series but it just...ends... "

    - Alisha, 4/25/2011
  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Futuristic society books for kids....not as grisly as Hunger Games. I read it, partly, with Gavin. He's decided to read the books nominated for the Sasquatch Awards! I am not sure we can get through all 12 books by May 20th! 7 down--5 to go!!! "

    - Leslie, 4/18/2011
  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Good read-alike for City of Ember. I think Stead does a great job of writing about normal, everyday kids who all of a sudden encounter something fantastical. She never loses the tone of reality no matter what sort of crazy things are happening. "

    - Librarian, 4/5/2011
  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " I loved this book. It is really good, and gets you hooked almost right away. The plot is really different. "

    - Ejaggi7, 3/11/2011
  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I didn't like it as much as when ,When you Reach me, but is was still really good! "

    - Ivy, 3/1/2011
  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Fabulous, fabulous book. A bit sci-fi, but not too much (I am not much of a sci-fi girl, but I greatly enjoyed the read!). I would love to see a sequel as the end is a bit vague. "

    - Melissa, 2/21/2011
  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

    " ew. ew. ew. I couldn't even finish the book. I just have one thing to say: Why do they choose such horrid books for battle of the books. I'm only an alternate, but it took me almost three weeks to get to the end, and I'm a fricken fast reader too. that says something... "

    - Hannah, 2/13/2011

About the Author

Rebecca Stead has written three novels for children: When You Reach Me, a New York Times bestseller, and winner of the Newbery Medal and the Boston Globe/Horn Book Award for Fiction; Liar & Spy, a New York Times bestseller and New York Times Book Review Notable Book for Children; and First Light, a Junior Library Guild Selection and a New York Public Library Best Book for Teens. She lives in New York City with her family.

About the Narrators

David Ackroyd is an American actor who first came to prominence in soap operas such as The Secret Storm and Another World. He was born in Orange, New Jersey, a suburb of Newark.

Coleen Marlo is an AudioFile Earphones Award–winning narrator who has been nominated for an Audie Award twice, winning in 2011. She has been awarded three Listen-Up Awards from Publishers Weekly, an AudioFile Audiobook of the Year Award in 2011, and was named Audiobook Narrator of the Year for 2010 by Publishers Weekly. She is a member of the prestigious Actors Studio and taught acting for ten years at the Lee Strasberg Theatre & Film Institute. Marlo is a proud founding member of Deyan Institute of Voice Artistry and Technology.