Extended Audio Sample

Download Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All Audiobook, by Stephanie Hemphill Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Stephanie Hemphill, Deborah Hopkinson, Jennifer Donnelly, Linda Sue Park, Candace Fleming, M. T. Anderson Narrator: Jayne Entwistle, Justine Eyre, others Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2018 ISBN: 9780525525721
Regular Price: $27.50 Add to Cart
— or —
BEST PRICE!
FlexPass™ Price: $21.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The tragic lives of Henry VIII and his six wives are reimagined by seven acclaimed and bestselling authors in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of Wolf Hall and Netflix’s The Crown.

He was King Henry VIII, a charismatic and extravagant ruler obsessed with both his power as king and with siring a male heir.

They were his queens—six ill-fated women, each bound for divorce, or beheading, or death.

Watch spellbound as each of Henry’s wives attempts to survive their unpredictable king and his power-hungry court. See the sword flash as fiery Anne Boleyn is beheaded for adultery. Follow Jane Seymour as she rises from bullied court maiden to beloved queen, only to die after giving birth. Feel Catherine Howard’s terror as old lovers resurface and whisper vicious rumors to Henry’s influential advisors. Experience the heartache of mothers as they lose son after son, heir after heir.

Told in stirring first-person accounts, Fatal Throne is at once provocative and heartbreaking, an epic tale that is also an intimate look at the royalty of the most perilous times in English history.

Who’s Who:

*

M. T. Anderson - Henry VIII

* Candace Fleming - Katharine of Aragon
* Stephanie Hemphill - Anne Boleyn
* Lisa Ann Sandell - Jane Seymour
* Jennifer Donnelly - Anna of Cleves
* Linda Sue Park - Catherine Howard
* Deborah Hopkinson - Kateryn Parr< Download and start listening now!

cf5h

Quotes & Awards

  • “Seven talented YA authors and gifted narrators embrace the personalities, foibles, dreams, and philosophies of Henry VIII’s unfortunate wives. First-person narratives reveal each queen in her own right, not eclipsed by the famous king or distorted by stereotypes. Portraits are distinctive and individual. Varying tones properly represent the power and struggles of each…Elliot Hill, as an heir-obsessed Henry, is, first, powerful and arrogant and, later, sullen and lonely. Together, these perspectives paint a personal, poignant, thoroughly engaging view of history. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    AudioFile

  • “Ambitious and exciting.”

    Bustle

  • “Romance and intrigue dominate these accounts, as do the frustrations of being female in a time when ‘no woman—not even a Queen—can…show her own power.’"

    Shelf Awareness (starred review)

  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Stephanie Hemphill

Stephanie Hemphill is the award-winning author of Wicked Girls: A Novel of the Salem Witch Trials, a Los Angeles Times Book Prize finalist; Your Own, Sylvia: A Verse Portrait of Sylvia Plath, a Michael L. Printz Honor Book; Sisters of Glass; and Things Left Unsaid: A Novel in Poems. She lives in Chicago, Illinois.

About the Narrators

Jayne Entwistle is a voice talent and Earphones Award–winning narrator.

Justine Eyre is a classically trained actress who has narrated many audiobooks, earning the prestigious Audie Award for best narration and numerous Earphones Awards. She is multilingual and known for her great facility with accents. She has appeared on stage, with leading roles in King Lear and The Crucible, and has had starring roles in four films on the indie circuit. Her television credits include Two and a Half Men and Mad Men.

Sophie Aldred is an English actress and television presenter best known for her role as Ace in the popular BBC television series Doctor Who during the late 1980s.