Extended Audio Sample

Download Fans of the Impossible Life Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Fans of the Impossible Life, by Kate Scelsa Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Kate Scelsa Narrator: Imani Parks, MacLeod Andrews, Michael Curran-Dorsano Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $21.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who can’t get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when she’s with Sebby.

Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who’s been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, it’s as if he’s been expecting this blond, lanky boy with mischief glinting in his eye.

Sebby, Mira’s gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him. Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.

As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira’s world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don’t understand their quest to live for the impossible.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Scelsa debuts with an evocative novel about finding friendship, love, and oneself, as well as the pain that often accompanies the journey…Themes of betrayal, forgiveness, and resilience resonate strongly…Beautifully told.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Narrators Michael Curran-Dorsano, Imani Parks, and Macleod Andrews deliver an intimate story of friendship told from three perspectives…The shifting perspectives are seamless, allowing the characters to develop within each chapter…Andrews matches his tone to Sebby’s insouciant, confrontational personality. With softer tones and a bit of hesitancy, Andrews captures the uncertainty beneath Sebby’s defiance. Addressing themes of depression, bullying, suicide, substance abuse, and sexuality, this is far from a light listen. Fortunately, the shared performance respects the weight of the story.”


  • “Rounded characters large and small, drawn with insight and empathy, drive the plot. Buoyant writing and wry humor balance the pathos in this powerful debut, a moving tale of friendship as refuge and shield against a hostile world.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “I wish my high school self could read this book. Fans of the Impossible Life perfectly captures the complexity of love, sexuality, and the cost of secrets..”

    Julie Murphy, author of Dumplin’

  • “A deeply moving story about friendship and individuality in an often inhospitable world.”

    Nina LaCour, author of Hold Still

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Kate Scelsa studied writing and theater at Sarah Lawrence College. She has performed in New York and on tour around the world with the experimental-theater company Elevator Repair Service in their trilogy of works based on great American literature: The Sound and the Fury, The Sun Also Rises, and Gatz, an eight-hour-long performance that uses the entire text of The Great Gatsby. Scelsa’s own writing for theater has been shown at Dixon Place, Galapagos, BAX, and the SoHo Playhouse.