Extended Audio Sample

Download Falling into Place Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Falling into Place, by Amy Zhang Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Amy Zhang Narrator: Julia Whelan Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $18.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

One cold fall day, high school junior Liz Emerson steers her car into a tree. This haunting and heartbreaking story is told by a surprising and unexpected narrator and unfolds in nonlinear flashbacks even as Liz’s friends, foes, and family gather at the hospital and Liz clings to life. This riveting debut will appeal to fans of Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver and 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher.

“On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.”

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to love someone? To be a friend? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s debut is a haunting and universal story.

Download and start listening now!

bc9a

Quotes & Awards

  • “Zhang writes with confidence and finesse, and many readers will be moved as Liz recognizes the lives she has damaged.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “The breezy yet powerful and exceptionally perceptive writing style, multifaceted characters, surprisingly hopeful ending, and pertinent contemporary themes frame an engrossing, thought-provoking story that will be snapped up by readers of Todd Mitchell’s Backwards and Gayle Forman’s If I Stay.”

    School Library Journal

  • “An impressive debut…should appeal to readers who sobbed through Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why.”

    Booklist

  • “Amy Zhang crashes onto the YA scene with this debut novel about a physics student who puts Newton’s laws of motion into practice by driving her Mercedes into a tree…A good pick for fans of Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall and Gayle Forman’s If I Stay.”

    Shelf Awareness

  • “Insightful…It’s interesting to see the mean girl through the eyes of the people who love her, despite (and sometimes because of) her flaws.”

    Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

  • “Strategically timed flashbacks to weeks, days, and minutes before the crash, some voiced by Liz’s platitude-spouting childhood imaginary friend, reveal a wealthy, popular girl tortured by regret over her cruel actions against others…[and offer an] inventive structure and inspired use of the imaginary-friend narrator.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Narrator Julia Whelan’s voice is calm and clear as she presents an unvarnished picture of Liz Emerson, who dominates her world, bending others to her will while shielding herself from the consequences…Expertly managing a nonlinear story filled with a wide range of characters, Whelan delivers a compelling performance. There’s a significant amount of disturbing content—bullying, alcohol and drug abuse, sexual assault—and Whelan doesn’t shy away from portraying the emotional fallout as she movingly delivers the reasons behind Liz’s actions.”

    AudioFile

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations