Extended Audio Sample

Download Face of the Enemy: A New York in Wartime Mystery Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Face of the Enemy: A New York in Wartime Mystery, by Beverle Graves Myers, Joanne Dobson Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (31 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Beverle Graves Myers, Joanne Dobson Narrator: Celeste Lawson Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

In December 1941, America is reeling from the brutal attack on Pearl Harbor. Both patriotism and paranoia grip New York as the city frantically mobilizes for war. Nurse Louise Hunter is outraged when the FBI, in a midnight sweep of prominent Japanese residents, storms in to arrest her patient’s wife. The desperately ill Professor Oakley is married to artist Masako Fumi. The nurse vows to help the professor free Masako. But when the murdered body of Masako’s art dealer is discovered in the gallery where he’d been closing down her controversial show, Masako’s troubles multiply. Homicide detective Michael McKenna doubts her guilt, but an ambitious government man schemes to lever the homicide and ensuing espionage accusations into a political cause célèbre.

Struggling to focus on one man’s murder while America plunges into a worldwide war, Louise and McKenna defy both racism and ham-fisted government agents in order to expose the real killer.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_005328

Quotes & Awards

  • “This winning collaborative debut by Dobson, author of the Professor Karen Pelletier mysteries, and Myers, author of the Baroque series, introduces two determined female amateur sleuths operating just as the United States enters World War II…Recommend for fans of Rhys Bowen’s Molly Murphy series and Sarah Shaber’s Louise Pearlie mysteries.” 

    Library Journal

  • “Dobson and Myers collaborate to introduce a planned series on wartime New York…Colorful characters and the evocation of Gotham in the 1940s: the Bund, America First, egg creams, Schrafft’s, Horn & Hardart. More, please.” 

    Kirkus Reviews

  • Face of the Enemy is much more than a whodunit—with New York City as its backdrop, this mystery explores how a diverse cast of characters attempt to make sense of the most seminal event in the twentieth century—World War II. The plight of a Japanese immigrant artist, pursued by both the FBI and New York Police Department, is especially moving. If you are not a fan of 1940s American history, you will become one!” 

    Naomi Hirahara, author of the Mas Arai mysteries 

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Gina | 11/24/2013

    " An interesting mystery set around the time of the attack on Pearl Harbor. A Japanese artist in NYC is accused of not only murdering an art gallery owner, but also charges of being an enemy alien. Her gravely ill husband is unable to help her, however his nurse helps them fight the charges. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Leslie Angel | 9/24/2013

    " Good idea--NYC just as Pearl Harbor is bombed. Art, Japanese round-up, murder, good setting--but rather poor writing. too bad. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Debra | 3/13/2013

    " Best part was humanizing the racism war engenders. I wanted to like it more but it just wasn't good enough. Cardboard stereotypes, clumsy pacing, and predictable. Really needed a 2.5 rating. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Joanne Dobson

Joanne Dobson, a former professor of English at Fordham University, is the author of the Professor Karen Pelletier mystery series. The first book in the series, Quieter Than Sleep, was nominated for an Agatha Award in 1997 for Best First Novel, and in 2001 the adult readers division of the New York Library Association named her Noted Author of the Year, being the writer whose books they most enjoyed recommending to their patrons.