Extended Audio Sample

Download Eye of the Red Tsar: A Novel of Suspense Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Eye of the Red Tsar: A Novel of Suspense, by Paul Watkins, Sam Eastland Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,114 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Paul Watkins, Sam Eastland Narrator: Paul Michael Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $20.00 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

This riveting suspense debut introduces both a stellar new voice and a remarkable detective, an outsider who must use his extraordinary talents to solve the one case that may redeem him.

Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. Their bodies were hidden away, the location a secret of the Soviet state.

A decade later, one man lives in purgatory, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. Pekkala was once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, the right-hand man of the tsar himself. Now he is Prisoner 4745-P, living a harsh existence in which even the strongest vanish into the merciless Soviet winter.

But the state needs Pekkala one last time. The man who knew the Romanovs best is given a final mission: catch their killers, locate the royal child rumored to be alive, and give Stalin the international coup he craves. Find the bodies, Pekkala is told, and you will find your freedom. Find the survivor of that bloody night and you will change history.

In a land of uneasy alliances and deadly treachery, pursuing clues that have eluded everyone, Pekkala is thrust into the past where he once reigned. There he will meet the man who betrayed him and the woman he loved and lost in the fires of rebellion—and uncover a secret so shocking that it will shake to its core the land he loves.

With stunning period detail and crackling suspense, Eye of the Red Tsar introduces a complex and compelling investigator in a fiercely intelligent thriller perfect for readers of Gorky ParkChild 44, and City of Thieves.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Hair-raising action sequences and spellbinding settings…the lead contender for beach book of the summer.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • A triumph! With a canny eye for detail, Eastland re-creates the tragedy of the Romanov dynasty in this intelligent and relentless thriller. David Hewson
  • “Eastland’s debut is a gem of a historical mystery, and narrator Paul Michael does it full justice.”

    AudioFile (starred review)

  • “Eastland is succinct yet deeply affecting as he captures truthful emotions in depicting humanity's lust for power and gold.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Kelli Stephenson | 2/11/2014

    " Great historical fiction about a time and place I really did not know anything about. Very well written. I am grateful the author put in a real timeline at the end odf the book to fill me in-otherwise I would have had to do the research through Google! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Suzanne | 2/9/2014

    " This is the first in what is promised to be a series by this author, set in Russia after the Communists have ousted the monarchy. Gritty and dark, wonderful descriptions of the countryside. I'll read another by this author. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Shauna | 2/6/2014

    " Suspense and mystery without the foul language or gratuitous violence. I enjoyed this novel which is set in Russia about ten years after the assassination of the Romanov family. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Lori | 1/28/2014

    " I liked it, but would give it 2 and half stars if I could. It wasn't as good as I expected. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations